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Drunk and Drugged Driving - Subsequent Offender Penalties - Notice

For those alcohol- and/or drug-related offenses that authorize, but do not require, repeat
offender penalties, and to the extent consistent with court rules, a court is prohibited from
sentencing a defendant as a subsequent offender unless the State’s Attorney serves notice
of the alleged prior conviction on the defendant or his/her counsel before the acceptance
of a guilty plea or plea of nolo contendere before trial.

.|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None. The bill codifies current practice.
Local Effect: None. The bill codifies current practice.
Small Business Effect: None.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Analysis

Current Law: A person may not drive or attempt to drive any vehicle while:

under the influence of alcohol or under the influence of alcohol per se;
impaired by alcohol;

impaired by drugs, or drugs and alcohol; or

impaired by a controlled dangerous substance.

With a conviction for an alcohol- and/or drug-related driving offense, a violator is subject
to a range of penalties involving fines and imprisonment, as well as suspension or



revocation of the driver’s license by the Motor Vehicle Administration. A person
convicted of driving under the influence or under the influence per se is subject to fines
ranging from $1,000 to $3,000 and/or a maximum imprisonment term of one to three
years. A repeat conviction within 5 years requires a mandatory minimum penalty of
imprisonment from 5 to 10 days or community service from 30 to 60 days, as well as a
mandatory alcohol abuse assessment. A conviction for lesser included offenses subjects
the violator to a fine of $500 and/or imprisonment not exceeding two months. However,
for repeat offenders maximum prison terms increase to a year. If an offender is
transporting a minor at the time of the alcohol- or drug-related driving offense, fines and
sanctions increase beyond those already specified for lesser included offenses.

Maryland Rule 4-245 provides that when the law permits, but does not mandate
additional penalties due to a specified previous conviction, the court may not sentence the
defendant as a subsequent offender unless the State’s Attorney serves notice of the
alleged prior conviction on the defendant or counsel before acceptance of a guilty plea or
plea of nolo contendere, or at least 15 days before trial in a circuit court or five days
before trial in District Court, whichever is earlier.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.
Information Source(s): State’s Attorneys’ Association, Judiciary ( Administrative
Office of the Courts), Office of the Public Defender, Maryland Department of

Transportation, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, Department of
Legislative Services
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