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Judiciary

Civil Actions - Child Sexual Abuse - Statute of Limitations

This bill extends the statute of limitations for an action for damages arising out of an
alleged incident or incidents of sexual abuse that occurred while the victim was a minor
from 7 to 24 years from the date that the victim attains the age of majority.

The bill is construed to apply retroactively to revive any action that was barred by the
period of limitations applicable before the bill’s October 1, 2006 effective date.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Any increase in civil actions arising out of alleged incident(s) of child
sexual abuse as a result of the bill could be handled with the existing resources of the
Judiciary.

Local Effect: Any increase in civil actions in circuit courts arising out of alleged
incident(s) of child sexual abuse as a result of the bill could be handled with the existing
local resources.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Pursuant to Chapter 360 of 2003, an action for damages arising out of an
alleged incident(s) of sexual abuse that occurred while the victim was a minor must be
filed within seven years of the date that the victim attains the age of majority. The law is



not to be construed to apply retroactively to revive any action that was barred by
application of the period of limitations applicable before October 1, 2003.

The statute of limitations for a civil action provides that a civil action must be filed within
three years from the date it accrues unless another statutory provision provides a different
period of time within which an action can be commenced. The “discovery rule” is
applicable generally in all actions and the cause of action accrues when the claimant in
fact knew or reasonably should have known of the wrong. Poffenberger v. Risser, 290
Md. 631 (1981)

Background: States have taken different approaches to the issue of expanding the
ability of child sexual abuse victims to bring civil claims at a time later than that allowed
in most other civil cases. The simplest and most direct approach extends the limitations
period for a civil action based on child sexual abuse for a specified number of years.

Connecticut’s statute appears to be the most expansive, allowing a civil claim for sexual
abuse to be brought up to 30 years after becoming an adult. Rather than specifically
extending the statute of limitations for child sexual abuse, New York and Virginia have
enacted statutes that suspend the statute of limitations if a criminal prosecution from the
same facts has been commenced. The applicable statute of limitations begins to run after
the conclusion of the criminal case.

A number of other state statutes contain a general “discovery” rule that allows any civil
claim to proceed within a specific number of years after the injury was or should have
been discovered, even if the discovery occurs beyond the expiration of the period of
limitations. Other states have a specific discovery rule that tolls the statute of limitations
until the abused individual discovers or should have discovered that sexual abuse
occurred and that the sexual abuse caused the individual’s injuries.

At least two states, Alaska and Maine, allow civil actions for certain sexual offenses
against minors to be commenced at any time.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Department of Human Resources, Judiciary (Administrative
Office of the Courts), Department of Legislative Services
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