HOUSE BILL 58

7lr0821

CF SB 60 By: The Speaker (By Request - Maryland Judiciary) Introduced and read first time: January 19, 2007 Assigned to: Judiciary Committee Report: Favorable House action: Adopted Read second time: February 13, 2007 CHAPTER 1 AN ACT concerning 2 **Judgeships - Circuit and District Courts** 3 FOR the purpose of altering the number of resident judges of the circuit courts in 4 certain judicial circuits; altering the number of associate judges of the District 5 Court in certain districts; and generally relating to judgeships in the circuit courts and the District Court of Maryland. 6 7 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, 8 Article - Courts and Judicial Proceedings 9 Section 1–503(a)(15) and (b) and 1–603(b)(4) and (6) 10 Annotated Code of Maryland 11 (2006 Replacement Volume) SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF 12 MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows: 13 14 **Article - Courts and Judicial Proceedings** 1-503. 15

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

D1

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.

1 2 3	(a) In each county in the first seven judicial circuits there shall be the number of resident judges of the circuit court set forth below, including the judge or judges provided for by the Constitution:
4	(15) Montgomery[21] 22
5 6	(b) In Baltimore City there shall be [32] 33 resident judges of the Circuit Court for Baltimore City.
7	1–603.
8 9	(b) In each of the districts provided for in $\S 1-602$ of this subtitle, there shall be the following number of associate judges of the District Court:
10 11	(4) District 4 — [5] 6 , two to be appointed from Calvert County and [two] THREE to be appointed from Charles County
12	(6) District 6 — [11] 12
13 14	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect July 1, 2007.
	Approved:
	Governor.
	Speaker of the House of Delegates.
	President of the Senate.