# HOUSE BILL 1440

Q2

2

7lr3434 **CF SB 456** 

By: Delegate Eckardt Rules suspended Introduced and read first time: March 17, 2007 Assigned to: Rules and Executive Nominations

### A BILL ENTITLED

### AN ACT concerning 1

## Interest Rate for Overdue Property Tax - Mardela Springs

- 3 FOR the purpose of providing that the rate of interest for overdue property tax for a 4 certain municipal corporation is the rate set by law by the governing body of the 5 municipal corporation, subject to a certain limitation; and generally relating to 6 the interest rate for overdue property tax for a certain municipal corporation.
- 7 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 8 Article – Tax – Property
- 9 Section 14-603(b)(5)
- Annotated Code of Maryland 10
- (2001 Replacement Volume and 2006 Supplement) 11

SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF 12 13 MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

14

### **Article - Tax - Property**

14 - 603.15

16 (b) For the following counties and municipal corporations the rate of interest 17 for each month or fraction of a month that county or municipal corporation property tax or taxing district property tax is overdue is: 18

19

(5)the rate set by law by:

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW. [Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.



### HOUSE BILL 1440

1 2	(i) form of government unde	-	overning body of a county that has adopted a charter ele XI–A of the Maryland Constitution;
3	(ii)	the go	overning body of:
4		1.	Allegany County;
5		2.	the City of Annapolis;
6		3.	Berlin, not exceeding 1.5%;
7		4.	Caroline County, not exceeding 1%;
8 9	County, not exceeding 1%	5. 6;	Cecil County, or any municipal corporation in Cecil
10		6.	Dorchester County;
11 12	or before the date of final	7. lity;	the City of Frederick, not exceeding 1%, that is set on
13 14	before the date of finality	8. ⁄;	Frederick County, not exceeding 1%, that is set on or
15		9.	Ocean City, not exceeding 1.5%;
16		10.	Pocomoke City, not exceeding 1.5%;
17		11.	the Town of Princess Anne, not exceeding 1.5%;
18 19	County;	12.	Kent County or any municipal corporation in Kent
20 21	Queen Anne's County;	13.	Queen Anne's County or any municipal corporation in
22		14.	Snow Hill, not exceeding 1.5%;
23		15.	Worcester County, not exceeding 1.5%;
24		16.	Calvert County;

1	17.	St. Mary's County;	
2	18.	the City of Taneytown; [or]	
3	19.	the City of Cambridge; or	
4	20.	MARDELA SPRINGS, NOT EXCEEDING 1%; OR	
5 6	(iii) the Mayor and City Council of Baltimore City for Baltimore City, if the rate is set on or before June 30 for the following taxable year.		
7 8	SECTION 2. AND BE I June 1, 2007.	T FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect	