HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 3

 $\mathbf{R4}$

By: Delegates Heller, Vallario, Gutierrez, Kaiser, Ali, Barkley, Barnes, Bobo, Branch, Carter, Feldman, Frush, Gilchrist, Griffith, Healey, Hecht, Hixson, Hubbard, Hucker, Ivey, N. King, Kramer, Lawton, Lee, Manno, Minnick, Mizeur, Montgomery, Nathan-Pulliam, Oaks, Pena-Melnyk, Ramirez, Rice, Rosenberg, Taylor, Valderrama, Vaughn, and Waldstreicher

Introduced and read first time: February 9, 2007 Assigned to: Rules and Executive Nominations

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

- 1 A House Joint Resolution concerning
- 2

REAL ID Act of 2007 – Protest and Repeal

- FOR the purpose of protesting the implementation of the federal REAL ID Act of 2005;
 requesting the United States Congress to repeal the Act; and generally relating
 to the federal REAL ID Act of 2005.
- 6 WHEREAS, The federal REAL ID Act of 2005 mandates an unfunded national 7 driver's license on the people of Maryland; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The REAL ID Act national database will invite theft of identity and 9 invasion of privacy; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The REAL ID Act will impose inconveniences and higher taxes on 11 Marylanders with no attendant benefit such as protection from terrorism; now, 12 therefore, be it
- 13 RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the 14 Maryland General Assembly refuses to enact legislation to implement the REAL ID 15 Act in Maryland and thereby protests the treatment, by Congress and the President of 16 the United States, of the states as agents of the federal government; and be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That the Maryland General Assembly implores the United States
 18 Congress to repeal the REAL ID Act of 2005; and be it further



1 RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of 2 Legislative Services to the Maryland Congressional Delegation: Senators Barbara A. 3 Mikulski, and Benjamin L. Cardin, Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; 4 and Representatives Wayne T. Gilchrest, C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger III, John P. 5 Sarbanes, Albert R. Wynn, Steny Hamilton Hoyer, Roscoe G. Bartlett, Jr., Elijah E. 6 Cummings, and Christopher Van Hollen, Jr., House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 7 20515.

8 RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of 9 Legislative Services to the Honorable Martin O'Malley, Governor of Maryland; the 10 Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and the 11 Honorable Michael E. Busch, Speaker of the House of Delegates.