SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1

J1 7lr2040

By: Senators Middleton, Conway, Dyson, Hogan, and Pugh

Introduced and read first time: January 31, 2007

Assigned to: Finance

4

5

6 7

8

17

18 19

20

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A Senate Joint Resolution concerning

2	Federal Legislation Regarding Medicare Part D and Pharmacy Assistance
3	Programs

- FOR the purpose of urging the Maryland Congressional Delegation to support federal legislation that would clarify that pharmaceutical companies may assist certain Medicare Part D beneficiaries through pharmacy assistance programs; and generally relating to federal legislation regarding Medicare Part D and pharmacy assistance programs.
- WHEREAS, Medicare Part D, a Medicare prescription drug benefit, was implemented by the federal government to assist senior citizens in obtaining needed medications; and
- WHEREAS, The majority of prescription drug plans participating in Medicare Part D have a "donut hole", where the beneficiaries must pay the full costs of their prescription drugs; and
- WHEREAS, Paying the full costs of prescription drugs may be beyond the means of many senior citizens; and
 - WHEREAS, Many pharmaceutical companies that offer free prescription drugs through their pharmacy assistance programs have been reluctant to serve Medicare Part D beneficiaries that would otherwise meet the terms of their programs, due to concern that assisting these beneficiaries may violate federal law; now, therefore, be it

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.



RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the
General Assembly urges the Maryland Congressional Delegation to support federal
legislation that would clarify that pharmaceutical companies may assist Medicare
Part D beneficiaries in need through the pharmacy assistance programs of the
companies; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Maryland Congressional Delegation: Senators Barbara A. Mikulski, and Benjamin L. Cardin, Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; and Representatives Wayne T. Gilchrest, C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger III, John P. Sarbanes, Albert R. Wynn, Steny Hamilton Hoyer, Roscoe G. Bartlett, Elijah E. Cummings, and Christopher Van Hollen, Jr., House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515.

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Honorable Martin O'Malley, Governor of Maryland; the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and the Honorable Michael E. Busch, Speaker of the House of Delegates.