SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 5

7lr2672 CF 7lr2802

By: Senators Forehand and Raskin

Introduced and read first time: February 2, 2007

Assigned to: Judicial Proceedings

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A Senate Joint Resolution concerning

2	REAL ID Act of 2005 - Protest and Repeal
3 4 5	FOR the purpose of protesting the implementation of the federal REAL ID Act of 2005; requesting the United States Congress to repeal the Act; and generally relating to the federal REAL ID Act of 2005.
6 7	WHEREAS, The federal REAL ID Act of 2005 mandates an unfunded national driver's license on the people of Maryland; and
8 9	WHEREAS, The REAL ID Act national database will invite theft of identity and invasion of privacy; and
10 11 12	WHEREAS, The REAL ID Act will impose inconveniences and higher taxes on Marylanders with no attendant benefit such as protection from terrorism; now, therefore, be it
13 14 15 16	RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Maryland General Assembly refuses to enact legislation to implement the REAL ID Act in Maryland and thereby protests the treatment, by Congress and the President of the United States, of the states as agents of the federal government; and be it further
17 18	RESOLVED, That the Maryland General Assembly implores the United States Congress to repeal the REAL ID Act of 2005; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of

Legislative Services to the Maryland Congressional Delegation: Senators Barbara A.

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.



R4

19

20

- 1 Mikulski and Benjamin L. Cardin, Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510;
- 2 and Representatives Wayne T. Gilchrest, C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger, III, John P.
- 3 Sarbanes, Albert R. Wynn, Steny Hamilton Hoyer, Roscoe G. Bartlett, Jr., Elijah E.
- 4 Cummings, and Christopher Van Hollen, Jr., House Office Building, Washington, D.C.
- 5 20515.
- 6 RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
- 7 Legislative Services to the Honorable Martin O'Malley, Governor of Maryland; the
- 8 Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and the
- 9 Honorable Michael E. Busch, Speaker of the House of Delegates.