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Sexual Offenders - Evaluation Before Sentencing

This bill provides that, unless waived by the State’s Attorney and defense counsel, before
sentencing a defendant who is required to register on the State sex offender registry for
the crime of sexual abuse of a minor, the court must order the defendant to submit to (1) a
presentence investigation conducted by the Division of Parole and Probation (DPP); and
(2) a mental health assessment, including whether the defendant is a danger to self or
others, conducted by a qualified mental health professional employed or engaged by the
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH).

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: General fund expenditures could increase by at least $212,000 in FY 2008.
Out-year costs reflect annualization and inflation. These costs do not reflect potential
costs that may attach to criminal appeals. Revenues would not be affected.

(in dollars) FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012
Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
GF Expenditure 212,000 234,100 240,300 246,900 254,000
Net Effect ($212,000) ($234,100) ($240,300) ($246,900) ($254,000)

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

 
Local Effect: The bill would result in an increase in workload for the circuit courts
because of the additional investigation reports by DPP and mental health evaluations by
the Mental Health Administration (MHA) and the Office of the Public Defender (OPD).
The extent of this workload increase and the resulting effect on local government
finances cannot be reliably estimated at this time, but is assumed to be relatively minimal.
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Small Business Effect: Minimal.

Analysis

Current Law: Generally, a person convicted of a sex crime or other specified crime in
Maryland, including kidnapping and false imprisonment, is required to register with the
State sex offender registry upon release from prison or release from court if the person
did not receive a prison sentence. Offenders who are required to register in other states
and who come to Maryland are required to register upon entering Maryland. Offenders
from other states who may not be required to register in the home state are required to
register in Maryland if the crime would have required registration in Maryland if
committed in Maryland. Juveniles who are adjudicated as adults and convicted for
crimes that require registration are included in the registry. Juveniles who are
adjudicated delinquent for these crimes through the juvenile court system are not
included in the registry.

Maryland has four categories of persons convicted of sexual offenses: (1) a child sexual
offender; (2) an offender; (3) a sexually violent offender; and (4) a sexually violent
predator.

“Child sexual offender” means a person who (1) has been convicted of sexual abuse of a
minor; (2) has been convicted of first or second degree rape or first, second, or third
degree sexual offense involving a child under 15 years of age; (3) has been convicted of
fourth degree sexual offense involving such a child and has been ordered by the court to
register under these provisions; or (4) has been convicted in another state or in a federal,
military, or Native American tribal court of a crime that, if committed in this State, would
constitute one of these crimes.

“Sexually violent predator” means a person who (1) is convicted of a sexually violent
offense; and (2) has been determined to be at risk of committing another sexually violent
offense. Also included under this definition are persons who are or were required to
register every 90 days for life under the laws of another state or a federal, military, or
Native American tribal jurisdiction.

“Sexually violent offender” means a person who (1) has been convicted of a sexually
violent offense; or (2) has been convicted of an attempt to commit a sexually violent
offense.

“Sexually violent offense” is defined as first or second degree rape; first, second, or third
degree sexual offense; attempted rape or sexual offense; or assault with intent to commit
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first or second degree rape or first or second degree sexual offense as prohibited under
Maryland’s criminal code on or before September 30, 1996. Also included under this
definition are certain crimes that were committed in another state or in a federal, military,
or Native American tribal jurisdiction.

Sexual offenders are required to register, every 3 months or every 6 months, with the
Crimes Against Children and Sexual Offender Registry for a term of either 10 years or
life depending on the offense. Registration must include a photograph, which must be
updated at least annually. The registry is operated by the Sexual Offender Registry unit
of the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services. Under the State’s sexual
offender registration laws, a State’s Attorney may request that a sexual offender be
designated a sexually violent predator. Lifetime registration is required for (1) sexually
violent predators; (2) persons convicted of a sexually violent offense; (3) persons
convicted of child abuse for commission of a sexual act involving penetration of a child
under 12 years old; and (4) recidivist sexual offenders.

Chapter 578 of 2005 provided for a graduated reentry release for registrants under the
jurisdiction of DHMH.

A conviction for first degree rape or first degree sexual offense generally carries a
maximum penalty of life imprisonment. A conviction for child kidnapping along with
first degree rape or first degree sexual offense, where the victim is a child under the age
of 16 years, carries a maximum penalty of life imprisonment without the possibility of
parole.

Chapter 4 of the 2006 special session, enacted on June 22, 2006, increased the State’s
oversight of and penalties against sex offenders. Among its many provisions, the Act:

• subjects specified offenders to extended parole supervision for at least three years
to a maximum of life, with the ability to petition for discharge after the minimum
period;

• requires the Parole Commission to enter into agreements with offenders that set
specific conditions of parole supervision, which may include global positioning
system monitoring, geographic restrictions on residence or presence, restrictions
on employment or other activities, participation in sex offender treatment, a
prohibition from using illicit drugs or abusing alcohol, an authorization for a
parole agent to access the offender’s personal computer, a consent to take
polygraph exams, and a prohibition against contacting specific individuals or
categories of individuals;
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• creates a Sexual Offender Advisory Board, with specified reporting requirements,
to review technology for tracking offenders, review this State’s and other
jurisdictions’ laws, review the way in which the Parole Commission and the DPP
supervise and monitor offenders, review developments in the treatment and
assessment of offenders, and develop standards for conditions of extended parole
supervision;

• imposes stricter requirements for registration as a sex offender;

• provides for more comprehensive community notifications;

• prohibits, with specified exceptions, a registrant from knowingly entering on real
property used for elementary or secondary education or on which a registered
family day care home or a licensed child care home or institution is located; and

• requires, when the victim is under age 13, a mandatory minimum, nonsuspendable
25-year sentence for a person at least 18 years old convicted of first degree rape or
first degree sexual offense. A similar five-year minimum sentence is required
under the same circumstances for a second degree rape or second degree sexual
offense.

Under the Maryland Rules (Rule 4-341), a judge must order a presentence investigation
when required by law and may order such an investigation in other cases. DPP conducts
such investigations for the courts.

Background: On July 27, 2006, President George W. Bush signed the Adam Walsh
Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006 to protect the public, in particular children, from
violent sex offenders through a more comprehensive, nationalized system for registration
of sex offenders. The Act calls for conformity by the states with various aspects of sex
offender registration, including registration by specified juvenile offenders, information
that must be collected from registrants, duration of registration, verification of registry
information, access to and sharing of information, and penalties for failure to register.
The U.S. Attorney General is required by the Act to issue guidelines and regulations to
interpret and implement the legislation. Proposed regulations are due to be released by
February 2007, followed by a period of two to three months for public comments.

The failure of a state to substantially implement the federal requirements within three
years (July 2009) and one year from the development by the federal government of
software for uniform offender registries and web sites could result in a 10% reduction in
the Byrne law enforcement assistance grant to that state. (Total fiscal 2007 Byrne fund
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revenue for Maryland is $7.25 million.) The U.S. Attorney General may authorize up to
two one-year extensions of the deadline. The Act also provides a funding bonus of
10% or 5% to a state complying within one year or two years, respectively. A number of
new grant programs are authorized under the Act to assist states in improving sex
offender registration and related requirements of the Act.

Until the final regulations are issued by the U.S. Attorney General, a definitive
determination of what administrative and legislative changes may be necessary to comply
with the new federal law is not entirely clear. However, it appears that among the current
State statutory provisions concerning the registration of sex offenders, the following
provisions may require modification to meet the new federal standards:

• deadline for registration;

• length of registration for specific offenders;

• frequency of re-registration;

• application of registration requirement to specific juvenile offenders; and

• penalties for failure to register.

Due to the complexities of the Act and the many issues it involves, a collaborative
approach involving public safety, public health, law enforcement, victims’ rights, and
judiciary representatives will likely be necessary to substantially implement the federal
standards.

The sex offender registry has had a total growth rate of 400-600 new registrants per year.

State Fiscal Effect: In fiscal 2006, there were 44 persons convicted of sexual abuse of a
minor. Of that total, 23 received probation and 21 were sentenced to imprisonment. In
21 instances, a court ordered a presentence investigation by DPP. Accordingly, this bill
is expected to increase presentence investigations by DPP by about 23 cases per year,
which could be handled with existing budgeted resources.

The bill would result in identifiable additional costs of $211,976 for MHA and OPD
combined in fiscal 2008.
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Mental Health Administration

According to DHMH, assuming a contractual cost by a mental health professional of
$150 per hour, the mental health assessments required under the bill are estimated at
$1,250 per case. Accordingly, general fund expenditures for MHA could increase by an
estimated $156,976 in fiscal 2008, which accounts for the bill’s October 1, 2007 effective
date. This estimate reflects the cost of hiring one psychologist and one secretary to
administer the evaluation/assessment program and contract with qualified mental health
professionals to handle about 44 cases per year. It includes salaries, fringe benefits, one-
time start-up costs, and ongoing operating expenses.

Positions 2

Administrative Salaries and Fringe Benefits $84,036

Mental Health Evaluations 55,000

Operating Expenses 17,940

MHA FY 2008 Expenditures $156,976

Future year expenditures reflect (1) full salaries with 4.5% annual increases and
3% employee turnover; and (2) 1% annual increases in ongoing operating expenses.

MHA also believes that 75% of the individuals convicted of a sexual offense will file an
appeal, requiring additional court appearances for the mental health professionals who
have conducted the assessments. Although this estimate is likely too high, depending on
actual preparation and court appearance/testimony time, court appearances by mental
health professionals in appeals could significantly add to costs at the same rate of
$150 per hour. For purposes of illustration only, if each additional court appearance
(including preparation time) takes four to eight hours, each such case could cost
$600-$1,200. If half of each year’s cases result in an additional appearance on appeal,
this could cost the agency an additional $19,800-$39,600 in contractual services costs per
year, beginning in fiscal 2008.

Office of the Public Defender

OPD advises that this bill would necessitate additional and independent contractual
mental health evaluations on behalf of the defense. Legislative Services advises that
these costs would be similar in cost to the contractual evaluations required for MHA and
estimated at $55,000 annually, beginning in fiscal 2008. In addition, as was noted above
for MHA’s contractual assessment costs, an additional $19,800-$39,600 in contractual
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services costs per year for OPD, beginning in fiscal 2008, may be necessary for cases
appealed.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: HB 1572 of 2006 passed the House, received a hearing before the
Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee, and had no further action taken on it.

Cross File: Although not identified as a cross file, HB 390 is identical to this bill.

Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of
Health and Mental Hygiene, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services,
Department of Legislative Services
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