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Judiciary

Registered Sex Offenders - Residence Adjacent to Locations Where Children
Congregate - Prohibition in Baltimore County

This bill prohibits, in Baltimore County only, a registered sex offender from knowingly
residing within 2,000 feet of a “school,” “child care facility,” or “location where children
congregate.” A violator is guilty of a felony and subject to imprisonment for not less
than one year and not more than five years. The bill specifies how the distance restriction
must be measured. An exception is provided when a residence was owned or occupied
by the registrant prior to this prohibition.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Minimal. Enforcement would be handled with the existing budgeted
resources of affected State agencies, including the Division of Parole and Probation. The
new criminal penalty provisions of this bill are not expected to significantly affect State
finances or operations.

Local Effect: Minimal. Enforcement would be handled with the existing budgeted
resources of Baltimore County and the continued availability of grants through the Sex
Offender Compliance and Enforcement in Maryland (SOCEM) program. The new
criminal penalty provisions of this bill are not expected to significantly affect Baltimore
County’s finances or operations.

Small Business Effect: None.
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Analysis

Current Law: Generally, a person convicted of a sex crime or other specified crime in
Maryland, including kidnapping and false imprisonment, is required to register with the
State sex offender registry upon release from prison or release from court if the person
did not receive a prison sentence. Offenders who are required to register in other states
and who come to Maryland are required to register upon entering Maryland. Offenders
from other states who may not be required to register in the home state are required to
register in Maryland if the crime would have required registration in Maryland if
committed in Maryland. Juveniles who are adjudicated as adults and convicted for
crimes that require registration are included in the registry. Juveniles who are
adjudicated delinquent for these crimes through the juvenile court system are not
included in the registry.

Sexual offenders are required to register, every 3 months or every 6 months, with the
Crimes Against Children and Sexual Offender Registry for a term of either 10 years or
life depending on the offense. Registration must include a photograph, which must be
updated at least annually. The registry is operated by the Sexual Offender Registry unit
of the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (DPSCS). Under the
State’s sexual offender registration laws, a State’s Attorney may request that a sexual
offender be designated a sexually violent predator. Lifetime registration is required for:
(1) sexually violent predators; (2) persons convicted of a sexually violent offense;
(3) persons convicted of child abuse for commission of a sexual act involving penetration
of a child under 12 years old; and (4) recidivist sexual offenders.

Chapter 4 of the 2006 special session, enacted on June 22, 2006, increased the State’s
oversight of and penalties against sex offenders. Among its many provisions, the Act:

● subjects specified offenders to extended parole supervision for at least three years
to a maximum of life, with the ability to petition for discharge after the minimum
period; and

● requires the Parole Commission to enter into agreements with offenders that set
specific conditions of parole supervision, which may include global positioning
system monitoring, geographic restrictions on residence or presence, restrictions
on employment or other activities, participation in sex offender treatment, a
prohibition from using illicit drugs or abusing alcohol, an authorization for a
parole agent to access the offender’s personal computer, a consent to take
polygraph exams, and a prohibition against contacting specific individuals or
categories of individuals.
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Chapter 4 also prohibits a registrant from knowingly entering on real property used for
elementary or secondary education or on which a registered family day care home or a
licensed child care home or institution is located. This prohibition does not apply to a
registrant who enters real property where the registrant is a student or the registrant’s
child is a student or receives child care, if within the past year the registrant has been
given the specific written permission to do so and the registrant promptly notifies an
agent or employee of the covered property. It also does not apply for the purpose of
voting at a school on an election day in the State if the registrant is properly registered to
vote and the registrant’s polling place is at the school.

Background: According to a recent report from Stateline.org, in 2001 Texas was the
first state to establish child safety zones restricting where sex offenders can live. At least
21 states now have such zones. New or expanded restrictions have been proposed in
20 states this year. Several states, including Arkansas, Minnesota, and Washington, place
residency restrictions on sexually violent predators and offenders who are high-risk.

Many locally adopted ordinances exceed the state standards. Taylor Falls, Minnesota, for
example, passed an ordinance barring all sex offenders classified as high-risk from living
within the city limits. In New Jersey, which has no statewide residency rules, 113 cities
have set restrictions that make it nearly impossible for sex offenders to live within some
city limits. Some city and state laws contain exceptions to residency restrictions, such as
if the offender had established a permanent residence (through deed or title) prior to the
legislation being enacted.

California’s law, adopted by voters in November, prohibits registered sex offenders from
living within 2,000 feet of schools or parks. Approved by 70% of voters, this ballot
initiative would make it impossible for sex offenders to live in most of Los Angeles,
San Francisco and other urban districts in the state. Challenges against sex offender
residential restrictions in California, Illinois, Minnesota, and New Jersey are pending in
state courts. Restrictions enacted by Georgia in July 2006 face a federal class-action
lawsuit. The so-called “distance marker” restrictions in Iowa and Ohio have withstood
challenges in federal courts.

Organized through the Governor’s Office of Crime Control and Prevention (GOCCP), the
SOCEM program provides resources to all 24 designated State law enforcement agencies
responsible for the registration and re-registration of sex offenders in the offender
registry. Current grant funding through GOCCP assists State and local law enforcement
agencies in the enforcement of registration and compliance requirements. The
Governor’s fiscal 2008 budget includes $850,000 in general funds for the SOCEM grant
program.
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The SOCEM webpage lists the following SOCEM partners:

● GOCCP
● Department of State Police
● DPSCS
● Division of Parole & Probation
● The Sex Offender Registry
● Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Administration
● Department of Human Resources
● Department of Budget & Management
● Maryland Municipal League
● Maryland Association of Counties
● Maryland Sheriff’s Association
● Maryland Chiefs of Police Association
● Local Law Enforcement Agencies
● CTIA – The Wireless Association
● Towson University
● Maryland Children’s Alliance, Inc.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of
Natural Resources, Maryland State Department of Education, Department of Public
Safety and Correctional Services, Department of Legislative Services
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