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Judicial Proceedings

Registered Offenders Working at Fairs and Carnivals - Prohibition

This bill prohibits a registrant of the State’s sex offender registry from working at a fair
or carnival regardless of whether compensation is received. The owner or operator of a
fair or carnival, or a hired subcontractor, may not knowingly permit a registrant to work
at the fair or carnival. A violator of these prohibitions is guilty of a misdemeanor and
subject to maximum penalties of imprisonment for five years and/or a fine of $5,000.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Minimal increase in general fund revenues and expenditures due to the
bill’s penalty provisions. 
 
Local Effect: Minimal increase in local revenues and expenditures due to the bill’s
penalty provisions.  Enforcement would be handled with the existing budgeted resources
of local law enforcement units.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Under provisions of the Business Regulation Article:

• “fair” means an enterprise that: (1) is devoted principally to periodic exhibitions
related to agriculture, the arts, education, industry, religion, or science; and (2) has
one or more amusement attractions operated along with the exhibitions;
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• “carnival” means an itinerant enterprise that consists principally of one or more
temporarily located amusement attractions; and

• “amusement attraction” means an amusement ride; or a structure that gives
amusement, excitement, pleasure, or thrills to people who move around, over, or
through the structure without the aid of a moving device integral to the structure.

Amusement attraction does not include a structure that is devoted principally to
exhibitions related to agriculture, the arts, education, industry, religion, or science. An
amusement owner is a person, the State, or a local government that owns an amusement
attraction or, if the amusement attraction is leased, the lessee.

Generally, a person convicted of a sex crime or other specified crime in Maryland,
including kidnapping and false imprisonment, is required to register with the State sex
offender registry upon release from prison or release from court if the person did not
receive a prison sentence. Offenders who are required to register in other states and who
come to Maryland are required to register upon entering Maryland. Offenders from other
states who may not be required to register in the home state are required to register in
Maryland if the crime would have required registration in Maryland if committed in
Maryland. Juveniles who are adjudicated as adults and convicted for crimes that require
registration are included in the registry. Juveniles who are adjudicated delinquent for
these crimes through the juvenile court system are not included in the registry.

Sexual offenders are required to register, every 3 months or every 6 months, with the
Crimes Against Children and Sexual Offender Registry for a term of either 10 years or
life depending on the offense. Registration must include a photograph, which must be
updated at least annually. The registry is operated by the Sexual Offender Registry
(SOR) unit of DPSCS. Under the State’s sexual offender registration laws, a State’s
Attorney may request that a sexual offender be designated a sexually violent predator.
Lifetime registration is required for (1) sexually violent predators; (2) persons convicted
of a sexually violent offense; (3) persons convicted of child abuse for commission of a
sexual act involving penetration of a child under 12 years old; and (4) recidivist sexual
offenders.

Background: The Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation does not know the
total number of fairs and carnivals held in Maryland per year. However, the number of
registrations for amusement ride inspection purposes that were at a fair or carnival venue
in calendar 2006 was 839, with 173 owners registering.

According to the Maryland Department of Agriculture, more than two million people
attend local, county, and State agricultural fairs and shows in Maryland every year. Fair
and show season generally runs from April into the fall.
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State Revenues: General fund revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s
monetary penalty provision from cases heard in the District Court.

State Expenditures: General fund expenditures could increase minimally as a result of
the bill’s incarceration penalty due to more people being committed to Division of
Correction (DOC) facilities and increased payments to counties for reimbursement of
inmate costs. The number of people convicted of this proposed crime is expected to be
minimal.

Persons serving a sentence longer than 18 months are incarcerated in DOC facilities.
Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at $2,300
per month. This bill alone, however, should not create the need for additional beds,
personnel, or facilities. Excluding overhead, the average cost of housing a new DOC
inmate (including medical care and variable costs) is $465 per month. Excluding medical
care, the average variable costs total $134 per month.

Persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other than Baltimore City
are sentenced to local detention facilities. For persons sentenced to a term of between 12
and 18 months, the sentencing judge has the discretion to order that the sentence be
served at a local facility or DOC. The State reimburses counties for part of their
incarceration costs, on a per diem basis, after a person has served 90 days. State per diem
reimbursements for fiscal 2008 are estimated to range from $21 to $65 per inmate
depending upon the jurisdiction. Persons sentenced to such a term in Baltimore City are
generally incarcerated in DOC facilities. The Baltimore City Detention Center, a State-
operated facility, is used primarily for pretrial detentions.

Local Revenues: Revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s monetary
penalty provision from cases heard in the circuit courts.

Local Expenditures: Expenditures could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s
incarceration penalty. Counties pay the full cost of incarceration for people in their
facilities for the first 90 days of the sentence, plus part of the per diem cost after 90 days.
Per diem operating costs of local detention facilities are expected to range from $42 to
$120 per inmate in fiscal 2008.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: None.
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Information Source(s): Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; Frederick
County; Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services; Department of
Legislative Services
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