HB1041/935467/1

BY: Committee on Ways and Means

AMENDMENT TO HOUSE BILL 1041

(First Reading File Bill)

On pages 4 through 6, strike in their entirety the lines beginning with line 20 on page 4 through line 5 on page 6, inclusive, and substitute:

"(B) SCHOOL BOARD DISTRICT I CONSISTS OF:

- (1) ELECTION DISTRICT 10;
- (2) ELECTION DISTRICT 1, PRECINCTS 1 AND 3 THROUGH 6;
- (3) ELECTION DISTRICT 14, PRECINCT 8;
- (4) ELECTION DISTRICT 21, PRECINCTS 5, 14, AND 97;
- (5) THAT PART OF ELECTION DISTRICT 1, PRECINCT 2 THAT IS OUTSIDE THE MUNICIPAL BOUNDARY OF THE CITY OF COLLEGE PARK AS THAT BOUNDARY EXISTED ON NOVEMBER 30, 2003; AND
- (6) That part of election district 14, precinct 9 that is generally west, north, and east of a line that originates at the intersection of the municipal boundary of the City of Bowie and Maple Avenue and continues along the center of Maple Avenue to Laurel Bowie Road, then along the center of Laurel Bowie Road to Thompkins Lane, then along the center of Thompkins Lane to

JERICHO PARK ROAD, THEN ALONG THE CENTER OF JERICHO PARK ROAD TO RACE TRACK ROAD.

- (C) SCHOOL BOARD DISTRICT II CONSISTS OF:
 - (1) ELECTION DISTRICT 19, PRECINCTS 1 AND 2;
 - (2) ELECTION DISTRICT 20, PRECINCTS 1, 5, 6, AND 10;
- (3) ELECTION DISTRICT 21, PRECINCTS 1, 2, 3, 4, 6 THROUGH 13, 15, 16, 17, 98, AND 99;
- (4) THAT PART OF ELECTION DISTRICT 1, PRECINCT 2 THAT IS WITHIN THE MUNICIPAL BOUNDARY OF THE CITY OF COLLEGE PARK AS THAT BOUNDARY EXISTED ON NOVEMBER 30, 2003;
- (5) THAT PART OF ELECTION DISTRICT 2, PRECINCT 5 THAT IS WITHIN THE MUNICIPAL BOUNDARY OF THE TOWN OF EDMONSTON AS THAT BOUNDARY EXISTED ON SEPTEMBER 1, 2002;
- (6) THAT PART OF ELECTION DISTRICT 16, PRECINCT 1 THAT IS WITHIN THE MUNICIPAL BOUNDARY OF THE CITY OF HYATTSVILLE AS THAT BOUNDARY EXISTED ON NOVEMBER 1, 2006;
- (7) That part of election district 19, precinct 4 that is within the municipal boundary of the Town of Riverdale Park as that boundary existed on September 1, 2002; and

(8) THAT PART OF ELECTION DISTRICT 20, PRECINCT 2 THAT IS WITHIN THE MUNICIPAL BOUNDARY OF THE CITY OF NEW CARROLLTON AS THAT BOUNDARY EXISTED ON JANUARY 30, 2006.

(D) SCHOOL BOARD DISTRICT III CONSISTS OF:

- (1) ELECTION DISTRICT 17;
- (2) ELECTION DISTRICT 16, PRECINCTS 2 THROUGH 4;
- (3) ELECTION DISTRICT 19, PRECINCT 3; AND
- (4) THAT PART OF ELECTION DISTRICT 16, PRECINCT 1 THAT IS OUTSIDE THE MUNICIPAL BOUNDARY OF THE CITY OF HYATTSVILLE AS THAT BOUNDARY EXISTED ON NOVEMBER 1, 2006.
 - (E) SCHOOL BOARD DISTRICT IV CONSISTS OF:
- (1) <u>ELECTION DISTRICT 2, PRECINCTS 1 THROUGH 4 AND 6</u> THROUGH 10;
- (2) ELECTION DISTRICT 13, PRECINCTS 1 THROUGH 3, 8, 14, AND 17;
 - (3) ELECTION DISTRICT 14, PRECINCT 2;
 - (4) ELECTION DISTRICT 16, PRECINCT 99;
 - (5) ELECTION DISTRICT 18, PRECINCTS 5 AND 12;

- (6) THAT PART OF ELECTION DISTRICT 2, PRECINCT 5 THAT IS OUTSIDE THE MUNICIPAL BOUNDARY OF THE TOWN OF EDMONSTON AS THAT BOUNDARY EXISTED ON SEPTEMBER 1, 2002;
- (7) THAT PART OF ELECTION DISTRICT 19, PRECINCT 4 THAT IS
 OUTSIDE THE MUNICIPAL BOUNDARY OF THE TOWN OF RIVERDALE PARK AS
 THAT BOUNDARY EXISTED ON SEPTEMBER 1, 2002; AND
- (8) That part of election district 20, precinct 2 that is outside the municipal boundary of the City of New Carrollton as that boundary existed on January 30, 2006.
 - (F) SCHOOL BOARD DISTRICT V CONSISTS OF:
 - (1) ELECTION DISTRICT 3;
- (2) ELECTION DISTRICT 7, PRECINCTS 1 THROUGH 11, 13, AND 14;
 - (3) ELECTION DISTRICT 14, PRECINCTS 1, 3 THROUGH 7, AND 10;
 - (4) ELECTION DISTRICT 15, PRECINCT 5; AND
- (5) That part of election district 14, precinct 9 that is generally east, south, and west of a line that originates at the intersection of the municipal boundary of the City of Bowie and Maple Avenue and continues along the center of Maple Avenue to Laurel Bowie Road, then along the center of Laurel Bowie Road to Thompkins Lane, then along the center of Thompkins Lane to

JERICHO PARK ROAD, THEN ALONG THE CENTER OF JERICHO PARK ROAD TO RACE TRACK ROAD.

- (G) SCHOOL BOARD DISTRICT VI CONSISTS OF:
 - (1) ELECTION DISTRICT 6, PRECINCTS 19 AND 20;
 - (2) ELECTION DISTRICT 7, PRECINCT 12;
- (3) ELECTION DISTRICT 13, PRECINCTS 4 THROUGH 7 AND 9 THROUGH 13, 15, AND 16;
- (4) ELECTION DISTRICT 18, PRECINCTS 1 THROUGH 4 AND 6
 THROUGH 11; AND
 - (5) ELECTION DISTRICT 20, PRECINCT 3.".

Explanation: The amendment unifies the municipal corporations of Bowie, College Park, Edmonston, Glenarden, Hyattsville, New Carrollton, Riverdale Park, and University Park into single school board districts. Since the amendment only affects school board districts I through VI, there is no need to change any of the provisions relating to school board districts VII, VIII, or IX in the bill.