HOUSE BILL 974

R4 8lr0073

By: Chair, Environmental Matters Committee (By Request - Departmental -**Transportation**) Introduced and read first time: February 7, 2008 Assigned to: Environmental Matters Committee Report: Favorable House action: Adopted Read second time: March 14, 2008 CHAPTER AN ACT concerning Motor Vehicle Administration - Required Security - Suspension of **Registration for Violation** FOR the purpose of altering the conditions under which the Motor Vehicle Administration will suspend the registration of a vehicle for a lapse of required security; specifying when the suspension may take effect; and generally relating to required security for vehicles. BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article – Transportation Section 17–106(a) Annotated Code of Maryland (2006 Replacement Volume and 2007 Supplement) SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows: **Article - Transportation** 17-106.If the required security for any vehicle [terminates or otherwise] lapses

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

at any time, the registration of that vehicle:

1

2 3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13 14

15

16

17

18

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.

1 2 3	(1) Is suspended automatically as of the date of [termination or] THE lapse EFFECTIVE NOT LATER THAN 60 DAYS AFTER NOTIFICATION TO THE ADMINISTRATION THAT THE LAPSE HAS OCCURRED; and
4	(2) Remains suspended until:
5 6 7	(i) The required security is replaced and the vehicle owner submits evidence of replaced security on a form as prescribed by the Administration and certified by an insurer or insurance producer; and
8 9	(ii) Any uninsured motorist penalty fee assessed is paid to the Administration.
10 11	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 2008.
	Approved:
	Governor.
	Speaker of the House of Delegates.

President of the Senate.