SENATE BILL 455

Q1

8lr1707 CF HB 429

By: Harford County Senators

Introduced and read first time: January 31, 2008 Assigned to: Budget and Taxation

Committee Report: Favorable with amendments Senate action: Adopted Read second time: March 20, 2008

CHAPTER _____

1 AN ACT concerning

2 Personal Property Tax – Refunds and Reports – Interest

- FOR the purpose of allowing a county to pay a claim for a refund of personal property
 tax without interest within a certain period after the claim is approved under
 certain circumstances; providing for the application of this Act; and generally
 relating to refunds and reports for personal property tax.
- 7 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 8 Article Tax Property
- 9 Section 14–919
- 10 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 11 (2007 Replacement Volume)

12 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF 13 MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

14

Article – Tax – Property

15 14–919.

16 (A) Notwithstanding any other provision of this title, A COUNTY OR a 17 municipal corporation may pay a claim for a refund of personal property tax without 18 interest within three years after the refund claim is approved if the Department 19 determines that the refund is a result of a failure to file a report when due or other 20 taxpayer error.

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



1(B)NOTWITHSTANDING ANY OTHER PROVISION OF THIS TITLE, A2COUNTY MAY PAY A CLAIM FOR A REFUND OF PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX3WITHOUT INTEREST WITHIN 180 DAYS AFTER THE REFUND CLAIM IS APPROVED4IF THE DEPARTMENT DETERMINES THAT THE REFUND IS A RESULT OF A5FAILURE TO FILE A REPORT WHEN DUE OR OTHER TAXPAYER ERROR.

6 SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect 7 June 1, 2008, and shall be applicable to all taxable years beginning after June 30, 8 2008.

Approved:

Governor.

President of the Senate.

Speaker of the House of Delegates.