SENATE BILL 875

N1

By: Senator Edwards

Introduced and read first time: February 14, 2008 Assigned to: Rules Re-referred to: Judicial Proceedings, February 22, 2008

Committee Report: Favorable Senate action: Adopted Read second time: March 29, 2008

CHAPTER _____

1 AN ACT concerning

2 Real Property – Payment of Interest After Foreclosure Sale – Garrett County

- FOR the purpose of providing that, in Garrett County, the interest provided in a
 mortgage or note secured by a deed of trust is payable for a certain period of
 time following a foreclosure sale or until the audit of the sale is ratified,
 whichever occurs first; and generally relating to when the interest provided in a
 mortgage or note secured by a deed of trust is payable after a foreclosure sale in
 Garrett County.
- 9 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 10 Article Real Property
- 11 Section 7–105(d)
- 12 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 13 (2003 Replacement Volume and 2007 Supplement)

14 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF 15 MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

16 Article – Real Property

17 7–105.

18 (d) (1) Absent a provision to the contrary in a mortgage or note secured by 19 a deed of trust, in the enumerated counties, the interest provided in a mortgage or

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

Underlining indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



	2 SENATE BILL 875
$rac{1}{2}$	note secured by a deed of trust is payable for the time period provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection or until the audit of the sale is ratified, whichever occurs first.
$\frac{3}{4}$	(2) Under paragraph (1) of this subsection, the time period following sale is:
5 6	(i) 60 days in Calvert, Cecil, Frederick, GARRETT , Kent, Queen Anne's, Talbot, Caroline, Charles, and St. Mary's counties; and
7	(ii) 180 days in Worcester County.
8 9	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 2008.

Approved:

Governor.

President of the Senate.

Speaker of the House of Delegates.