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Consumer Protection - Advertisement of Rebate for Consumer Goods

This bill requires a merchant, under the Maryland Consumer Protection Act, to disclose
in an advertising for a rebate for consumer goods if the rebate is only available by mail.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues and expenditures due
to the bill’s imposition of existing penalty provisions. If the Attorney General’s Office
receives fewer than 50 complaints per year stemming from the bill, the additional
workload could be handled with existing resources.

Local Effect: Potential minimal increase in revenues and expenditures due to the bill’s
imposition of existing penalty provisions.

Small Business Effect: Potential minimal.

|
Analysis

Current Law/Background: The manner in which a merchant advertises a rebate for
consumer goods is not specifically regulated. However, an unfair or deceptive trade
practice under the Consumer Protection Act includes any false, falsely disparaging, or
misleading oral or written statement, visual description, or other representation of any
kind which has the capacity, tendency, or effect of deceiving or misleading consumers.

The Consumer Protection Division within the Office of the Attorney General is
responsible for pursuing unfair and deceptive trade practice claims under the Maryland



Consumer Protection Act. Upon receiving a complaint, the division must determine
whether there are “reasonable grounds” to believe that a violation of MCPA has occurred.
Generally, if the division does find reasonable grounds that a violation has occurred, the
division must seek to conciliate the complaint. The division may also issue cease and
desist orders, or seek action in court, including an injunction or civil damages, to enforce
the Act. Violators of MCPA are subject to e civil penalties of $1,000 for the first
violation and $5,000 for subsequent violations; and e criminal sanction as a
misdemeanor, with a fine of up to $1,000 and/or up to one year’s imprisonment.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: Similar bills were introduced in 2007 and 2006. Both HB 1011 of
2007 and HB 852 of 2006 received unfavorable reports from the House Economic
Matters Committee.

Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Office of the Attorney General (Consumer Protection Division);
Department of Legislative Services
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