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Family Law - Child Care Centers - Emergency Suspensions

This departmental bill requires a licensee or holder of a letter of compliance to
immediately cease operation of a child care center upon delivery of an emergency
suspension notice. A request for a hearing by the licensee or letter holder does not stay
the emergency suspension, which remains in effect until the order is reversed or until the
State Superintendent determines that the health, safety, or welfare of children is no longer
threatened.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None. The change would not materially affect government finances or
operations.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: The Maryland State Department of Education has determined
that the bill has a meaningful impact on small business (attached). Legislative Services
concurs with this assessment.

Analysis

Current Law: A person must be licensed by MSDE before operating a child care center
in the State; centers operated by a religious organization are generally exempt from
licensing requirements but may be required to obtain a letter of compliance. The State
Superintendent is charged with adopting rules and regulations for child care centers that



ensure the safety, proper care, health, and sound development of the children in their
care.

The State Superintendent may suspend the license or letter of compliance for a child care
center on an emergency basis as required to protect the health or safety of a child. Upon
delivery of the notice, the licensee or letter holder is required to cease operation of the
center within 72 hours. The State Superintendent must stay the emergency suspension if
the licensee or letter holder requests a hearing within 72 hours of receipt of the order. If
requested, a hearing must be held within seven days of the request, with a final order
1ssued within seven days of the hearing. If the emergency order is upheld, the licensee or
letter holder is required to cease operations until a determination is made that the center
no longer threatens children’s welfare.

Background: There were 5 emergency suspensions of child care centers in calendar
2005, 8 emergency suspensions in 2006, and 18 emergency suspensions in 2007. The
increase reflects, in part, a greater number of unannounced inspections by the Office of
Child Care. Emergency suspensions arose from abuse allegations, lack of appropriate
supervision, and other health or safety violations.

In the event of an emergency suspension, MSDE and the Child Care Resource and
Referral Network work with parents to help them in locating other providers and making
alternate arrangements for child care services.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Department of Human Resources, Maryland State Department
of Education, Department of Legislative Services
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