HOUSE BILL 1559

L2 9lr3191

By: St. Mary's County Delegation

Rules suspended

Introduced and read first time: March 12, 2009 Assigned to: Rules and Executive Nominations

Re-referred to: Environmental Matters, March 20, 2009

Committee Report: Favorable with amendments

House action: Adopted

Read second time: March 25, 2009

CHAPTER _____

1 AN ACT concerning

2

3

18

Task Force to Study the Governance and Structure of the St. Mary's County Metropolitan Commission

- 4 FOR the purpose of establishing the Task Force to Study the Governance and 5 Structure of the St. Mary's County Metropolitan Commission; requiring the 6 Task Force to study the governance and structure of the St. Mary's County 7 Metropolitan Commission; specifying the membership and staffing of the Task 8 Force; providing for the appointment of the chair of the Task Force; prohibiting 9 members of the Task Force from receiving certain compensation, but authorizing the reimbursement of certain expenses; requiring the Task Force to 10 report its findings and recommendations by certain dates; providing for the 11 termination of this Act; and generally relating to the Task Force to Study the 12 13 Governance and Structure of the St. Mary's County Metropolitan Commission.
- 14 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF 15 MARYLAND, That:
- 16 (a) There is a Task Force to Study the Governance and Structure of the St. 17 Mary's County Metropolitan Commission.
 - (b) The Task Force consists of the following members:
- 19 (1) three <u>five</u> members appointed by the St. Mary's County Board of County Commissioners;

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



1 2 3	(2) three <u>four</u> members appointed by the St. Mary's County Delegation of the General Assembly, <u>with each member of the delegation appointing one Task</u> <u>Force member</u> ; and	
4 5 6		(3) one member from the St. Mary's County Metropolitan Commission, sintly by the St. Mary's County Board of County Commissioners and the St. aty Delegation of the General Assembly. appointed internally.
7 8 9	(c) The St. Mary's County Delegation of the General Assembly and the St Mary's County Board of County Commissioners shall jointly designate the among its members, the Task Force shall elect a chair of the Task Force.	
10 11 12 13	(d) The St. Mary's County Administrator shall provide Delegation shall issue a request for proposal to the University of Maryland, College Park, the University of Maryland Baltimore County, and the University of Maryland, Baltimore, and from the proposals received shall select staff for the Task Force.	
14	(e)	A member of the Task Force:
15		(1) may not receive compensation as a member of the Task Force; but
16 17	State Travel	(2) is entitled to reimbursement for expenses under the Standard Regulations, as provided in the State budget.
18	(f)	The Task Force shall:
19 20	Metropolita	(1) study the governance and structure of the St. Mary's County n Commission; and
21		(2) make recommendations regarding:
22 23	Metropolita	(i) the structure and governance of the St. Mary's County n Commission; and
24 25 26		(ii) whether to continue the St. Mary's County Metropolitan how best to continue the provision of water and sewer services to the t. Mary's County.
27 28 29 30	Government	On or before September 1, 2009 <u>July 1, 2010</u> , the Task Force shall report and recommendations, in accordance with § 2–1246 of the State Article, to the St. Mary's County Delegation of the General Assembly and y's County Board of County Commissioners.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect June 1, 2009. It shall remain effective for a period of 1 year <u>and 3 months</u> and, at the end of <u>May 31</u> <u>August 31</u>, 2010, with no further action required by the General Assembly, this Act shall be abrogated and of no further force and effect.

Approved:	
	Governor.
	Speaker of the House of Delegates.
	President of the Senate.