SENATE BILL 42

M1

(PRE-FILED)

9lr0953

By: Senator Conway

Requested: November 10, 2008 Introduced and read first time: January 14, 2009 Assigned to: Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

Committee Report: Favorable Senate action: Adopted Read second time: January 30, 2009

CHAPTER _____

1 AN ACT concerning

 $\mathbf{2}$

Natural Resources – BayStat Subcabinet – Membership

- FOR the purpose of altering the membership of the BayStat Subcabinet to include a
 representative from the University of Maryland Biotechnology Institute; and
 generally relating to the membership of the BayStat Subcabinet.
- 6 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 7 Article Natural Resources
- 8 Section 8–2A–03(a)(3)
- 9 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 10 (2007 Replacement Volume and 2008 Supplement)
- 11 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF 12 MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:
- 13

16

Article – Natural Resources

- 14 8–2A–03.
- 15 (a) (3) The BayStat Subcabinet is composed of:
 - (i) The Secretary of Natural Resources;
- 17 (ii) The Secretary of the Environment;

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law. <u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill. Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



	2 SENATE BILL 42
1	(iii) The Secretary of Planning;
2	(iv) The Secretary of Agriculture;
$\frac{3}{4}$	(v) The President of the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science;
5 6	(vi) The Dean of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the University of Maryland, College Park; [and]
7 8 9	(VII) A REPRESENTATIVE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND BIOTECHNOLOGY INSTITUTE, SELECTED BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE INSTITUTE; AND
10 11	[(vii)] (VIII) The chair of the Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays.
$\begin{array}{c} 12\\ 13 \end{array}$	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect June 1, 2009.

Approved:

Governor.

President of the Senate.

Speaker of the House of Delegates.