SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 11

C2 9lr3373

By: Senators Harris and Mooney

Introduced and read first time: March 2, 2009

Assigned to: Rules

 $\mathbf{2}$

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A Senate Joint Resolution concerning

Opposition to the Reinstatement of the Fairness Doctrine

- 3 FOR the purpose of urging opposition to the reinstatement of the Fairness Doctrine.
- WHEREAS, The First Amendment to the United States Constitution guarantees the right to free speech; and
- WHEREAS, There are now many more opportunities and channels for broadcast on the nation's airwaves to exercise the right of free speech than there were in 1949 when the Fairness Doctrine was first instituted by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC); and
- WHEREAS, The Fairness Doctrine was rescinded by the FCC in 1987 for these reasons, a decision upheld by a United States Court of Appeals in 1988, with ensuing expansion of political dialogue welcomed in a free society; and
- WHEREAS, The leaders of the United States House of Representatives and the Senate have expressed a desire to reinstate the Fairness Doctrine; and
- WHEREAS, An FCC commissioner has stated that reinstatement of the Fairness Doctrine may also extend it to the Internet; and
- WHEREAS, Article 40 of the Maryland Constitution affirms "that the liberty of the press ought to be inviolably preserved; that every citizen of the State ought to be allowed to speak, write and publish his sentiments on all subjects, being responsible for the abuse of that privilege"; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That reinstatement of the Fairness Doctrine in any form through either FCC or congressional action should be opposed as a limit on our First Amendment rights as Americans that would reduce, rather than enhance, free speech; and be it further



1 RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of $\mathbf{2}$ Legislative Services to President Barack Obama and Vice President Joseph R. Biden, 3 Jr., The White House, Washington, D.C. 20500; Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid 4 and Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 5 20510; Speaker Nancy Pelosi and House Minority Leader John Boehner, House Office 6 Building, Washington, D.C. 20515; the Maryland Congressional Delegation: Senators 7 Barbara A. Mikulski and Benjamin L. Cardin, Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; and Representatives Frank M. Kratovil, Jr., C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger, 8 III, John P. Sarbanes, Donna Edwards, Steny Hamilton Hoyer, Roscoe G. Bartlett, 9 10 Elijah E. Cummings, and Christopher Van Hollen, Jr., House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515; and Commissioners Michael J. Copps, Jonathan S. 11 Adelstein, and Robert McDowell, Federal Communications Commission, 445 12th 12 13 Street, SW, Washington, D.C. 20554.