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  Vehicle Laws - "Road Rage" Offenses 
 

 
This bill prohibits a person from violating, with malice, any Maryland Vehicle Law 
provisions relating to (1) overtaking and passing vehicles; (2) driving in a single lane; 
(3) following too closely; (4) stopping or decreasing speed; (5) using slow speed to 
impede traffic; or (6) limitations on backing up a vehicle.  A person convicted of 
violating this “offenses committed with malice” provision is subject to a maximum fine 
of $1,000.  However, if the trier of fact finds beyond a reasonable doubt that the violation 
contributes to an accident, the maximum penalty is two months imprisonment and/or a 
fine of $2,000.  The court may not impose this enhanced penalty unless the 
State’s Attorney complies with notice to the defendant or defendant’s counsel, as 
specified. 
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Minimal general fund revenue and expenditure increase from the bill’s 
penalty provisions.  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. 
  
Local Effect:  Potential minimal increase in expenditures due to the bill’s incarceration 
provision.  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  The Maryland Vehicle Law requires that, when overtaking another 
vehicle, the driver must wait until safely clear of the overtaken vehicle before driving the 
vehicle directly in front of the overtaken vehicle.  Except when overtaking and passing on 
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the right is permitted, the driver of an overtaken vehicle may not increase speed until 
completely passed by the overtaking vehicle. 
 
A driver is prohibited from following another vehicle more closely than is reasonable and 
prudent.  The driver must have due regard for the speed of the other vehicle, the traffic, 
and highway conditions.  In addition, a driver must drive within a single lane as much as 
practicable and not move to another lane or onto a road shoulder or bikeway unless safe 
to do so.  Drivers of trucks, other vehicles towing vehicles, or a motor vehicle that is part 
of a caravan or motorcade must be driven to allow enough space between the vehicle or 
vehicle combination to allow any other vehicle to enter and occupy the space without 
danger.  This provision does not apply to a funeral procession. 
 
If there is a chance to signal, a person may not stop or suddenly slow a vehicle until an 
appropriate signal is given to the driver of any other vehicle immediately in the rear.  
Unless reduced speed is necessary for safe vehicle operation, or to comply with the law, a 
person may not willfully drive a vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede the normal and 
reasonable flow of traffic. 
 
A driver may not back a vehicle unless the maneuver can be done safely and without 
interfering with traffic.  A driver is prohibited from backing up a vehicle on any shoulder 
or roadway of a controlled access highway. 
 
A violation of the above Maryland Vehicle Law is a misdemeanor.  A violator is subject 
to a maximum fine of $500.  Prepayment penalties set by the District Court range from 
$90 to $110 for the above offenses.  If the violation contributes to an accident, the 
prepayment penalty ranges from $130 to $150.  Also, one to two points must be assessed 
unless the offense contributes to an accident, which requires the assessment of three 
points.  The accumulation of points may result in additional administrative sanctions 
including a warning letter from the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA), a mandatory 
driver conference, and driver’s license suspension or revocation. 
 
Background:  In April 2007, two people were killed on the I-270 highway in 
Montgomery County during a road rage incident.  Police reported that witnesses saw the 
drivers of two vehicles (a green pick-up truck and a Chrysler convertible) exchange angry 
gestures.  The driver in the green pick-up truck pulled in front of the Chrysler and 
slammed on the brakes.  The Chrysler swerved to miss the truck, flipped over, and rolled 
several times.  The two occupants of the Chrysler were not wearing seat belts, were 
ejected from their car, and died at the scene.  The driver of the pick-up truck sped away. 
 
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), road rage 
and aggressive driving, while often used interchangeably in casual conversation, are 
different.  While aggressive driving is a combination of moving traffic offenses that 
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endangers other persons or property, “road rage” is an assault with a motor vehicle or 
other dangerous weapon by the operator or passengers of one motor vehicle on the 
operator or passengers of another motor vehicle or an assault that is caused by an incident 
that occurred on a roadway.  Road rage requires a willful and wanton disregard for the 
safety of others.  As a result, road rage is a criminal offense. 
 
According to the Governors Highway Safety Association, 14 states have addressed 
actions that meet the definition of aggressive driving as proffered by NHTSA.  
Eleven states have enacted aggressive driving laws although one of the states (Florida) 
enacted subsequent legislation prohibiting enforcement of the law.  Pennsylvania has 
passed a resolution against aggressive driving, while California and Utah broadened their 
existing reckless driving laws to include elements of aggressive driving;  Three of these 
states, (Georgia, Indiana, and Virginia) have included in their statutes elements which 
further criminalize road rage.  Their statutes include as elements, “…an intent to annoy, 
harass, molest, intimidate, injure or obstruct another person while doing actions such as 
following too closely, overtaking and passing another vehicle unsafely, slowing, 
stopping, impeding traffic flow and reckless driving.” 
 
Maryland, Virginia, Pennsylvania, and the District of Columbia have been involved in a 
public education/enforcement program called “Smooth Operator” since 1997.  This 
campaign targets many of the aggressive driver behaviors that could lead to road rage.  In 
addition to increased enforcement, public education campaigns attempt to stigmatize 
tailgating, speeding, unsafe lane changes, running red lights or stop signs, and other 
behaviors that compromise traffic safety.  In addition, the Maryland Strategic Highway 
Safety Plan for 2006-2010 includes reducing fatalities and injuries related to aggressive 
driving and speeding by 5 to 6%, including reducing: 
 

• aggressive driving fatalities from 62 in 2005 to 59 or fewer in 2010; 

• aggressive driving injuries from 4,060 in 2005 to fewer than 3,800 in 2010;  

• excessive speeding fatalities from 173 in 2005 to fewer than 164 in 2010; and 

• excessive speeding injuries from 11,005 in 2005 to fewer than 10,450 in 2010. 
 
State Revenues:  General fund revenues increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 
monetary penalty provision from cases heard in the District Court.  Although there were 
7,922 charges in 2008 for the offenses included in the bill, it is unclear how many would 
be considered a violation committed with malice under this bill. 
 
State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures increase minimally as a result of the 
bill’s incarceration penalty due to increased payments for inmate costs in Baltimore City.  
The number of people convicted of this proposed crime is expected to be minimal. 
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Generally, persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other than 
Baltimore City are sentenced to a local detention facility.  The State reimburses counties 
for part of their incarceration costs, on a per diem basis, after a person has served 
90 days.  State per diem reimbursements for fiscal 2010 are estimated to range from 
$23 to $71 per inmate depending upon the jurisdiction.  Persons sentenced to such a term 
in Baltimore City are generally incarcerated in a DOC facility.  Currently, the DOC 
average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at $2,600 per month.  This 
bill alone, however, should not create the need for additional beds, personnel, or 
facilities.  Excluding overhead, the average cost of housing a new DOC inmate (including 
variable medical care and variable operating costs) is $342 per month.  Excluding all 
medical care, the average variable costs total $164 per month.   
 
Local Expenditures:  Expenditures increase as a result of the bill’s incarceration 
penalty.  Counties pay the full cost of incarceration for the first 90 days of the sentence, 
plus part of the per diem cost after 90 days.  Per diem operating costs of local detention 
facilities are expected to range from $46 to $141 per inmate in fiscal 2010. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  HB 1348, a similar bill, received an unfavorable report from the 
House Judiciary Committee. 
 
Cross File:  SB 682 (Senator Muse) - Judicial Proceedings. 
 
Information Source(s):  Kent and Worcester counties, Judiciary (Administrative Office 
of the Courts), Department of State Police, Department of Public Safety and Correctional 
Services, State’s Attorneys’ Association, Maryland Department of Transportation, 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Governors Highway Safety 
Association, Department of Legislative Services  
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