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  Criminal Law - Crimes of Violence Against the Elderly or Persons with a 
Disability - Penalties 

 

 
This bill prohibits a person from committing a “crime of violence” against a person who 
is at least 68 years old or a “person with a disability.” A violator is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and subject to maximum penalties of five years imprisonment and/or a 
$5,000 fine. 
 
A conviction under these provisions does not merge with a conviction for the underlying 
offense upon which this violation is based.  A sentence imposed under these provisions 
must be consecutive to and not concurrent with any other sentence imposed for any crime 
based on the act establishing the violation of these provisions. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues and expenditures due 
to the bill’s penalty provisions. 
  
Local Effect:  Potential minimal increase in local revenues and expenditures due to the 
bill’s penalty provisions. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
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Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Except for certain sexual offenses where the specified age of a young 
victim is one of the elements of the crime, Maryland criminal law does not generally 
provide for criminal sanctions based on the age of the victim.  Crimes of violence include 
murder, manslaughter, some sexual offenses, robbery, carjacking, kidnapping, assault, 
and other offenses, as specified in the Criminal Law Article. 
 
Background:  According to the Department of Disabilities and the U.S. Census Bureau, 
there are more than 667,000 people with one or more disabilities in Maryland.  The 
department also reports that very little reliable national data exists on crimes against 
persons with disabilities in the United States, though such events are believed to occur 
nationally at higher rates than with the general population.  Crime victims with 
disabilities may also experience victimization at the hands of family caregivers, partners, 
or personal assistance service professionals.  In fact, more than half of all reported abuse 
of people with disabilities is estimated to be perpetrated by family members and peers 
with disabilities.  According to the National Council on Disability, Association of 
University Centers on Disabilities, and the National Center for Victims of Crime service 
providers are generally believed responsible for the other half. 
 
It is not known how many crimes against elderly persons or persons with disabilities 
currently occur in Maryland each year. 
 
State Revenues:  General fund revenues may increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 
monetary penalty provision from cases heard in the District Court. 
 
State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures may increase minimally as a result of 
the bill’s incarceration penalty due to more people being committed to Division of 
Correction (DOC) facilities and increased payments to counties for reimbursement of 
inmate costs.  The number of people convicted of these proposed crimes is expected to be 
minimal. 
 
Persons serving a sentence longer than 18 months are incarcerated in DOC facilities.  
Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at $2,600 
per month.  This bill alone, however, should not create the need for additional beds, 
personnel, or facilities.  Excluding overhead, the average cost of housing a new DOC 
inmate (including variable medical care and variable operating costs) is $342 per month.  
Excluding all medical care, the average variable costs total $164 per month.   
 
Persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other than Baltimore City 
are sentenced to local detention facilities.  For persons sentenced to a term of between 12 
and 18 months, the sentencing judge has the discretion to order that the sentence be 
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served at a local facility or DOC.  The State reimburses counties for part of their 
incarceration costs, on a per diem basis, after a person has served 90 days.  State per diem 
reimbursements for fiscal 2010 are estimated to range from $23 to $71 per inmate 
depending upon the jurisdiction.  Persons sentenced to such a term in Baltimore City are 
generally incarcerated in DOC facilities.  The Baltimore City Detention Center, a 
State-operated facility, is used primarily for pretrial detentions.  
 
Local Revenues:  Revenues may increase minimally as a result of the bill’s monetary 
penalty provision from cases heard in the circuit courts. 
 
Local Expenditures:  Expenditures may increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 
incarceration penalty.  Counties pay the full cost of incarceration for people in their 
facilities for the first 90 days of the sentence, plus part of the per diem cost after 90 days.  
Per diem operating costs of local detention facilities are expected to range from $46 to 
$141 per inmate in fiscal 2010. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  HB 873 of 2008, a similar bill, received an unfavorable report 
from the House Judiciary Committee.  Its cross file, SB 504, received an unfavorable 
report from the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee. 
 
Cross File:  None.  
 
Information Source(s):  Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy, Department of 
Disabilities, Judiciary (Maryland District Court), Department of State Police, Department 
of Aging, Office of the Public Defender, Department of Public Safety and Correctional 
Services, State's Attorneys' Association, National Council on Disability, Association of 
University Centers on Disabilities, National Center for Victims of Crime, Department of 
Legislative Services  
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