
 

  HJ 3 
Department of Legislative Services 

Maryland General Assembly 
2009 Session 

 
FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE 

           
House Joint Resolution 3 (Delegate Kelly, et al.)  

Rules and Executive Nominations   
 

  Secondary Schools - Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Instruction  
 

   
This joint resolution urges each local board of education to make available American Red 
Cross Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) instruction, the American Heart 
Association’s Heart Saver CPR curriculum, or an equivalent program to high school 
students. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  None.  This bill is directed at local school systems. 
  
Local Effect:  Local school expenditures increase if local school systems choose to offer 
CPR instruction to high school students. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Local school systems must provide instruction in health education; 
however, CPR instruction is not required for high school students. 
 
Background:  The preamble notes that each year approximately 1.2 million Americans 
suffer acute myocardial infarctions, and effective bystander CPR provided immediately 
after the commencement of cardiac arrest can double a victim’s chance of survival.  
WebMD reports that one study showed that only 14.3% of cardiac arrest victims in the 
study received bystander CPR before going to the hospital, and that bystander CPR is 
being overlooked as a life-saving method. 
 



HJ 3 / Page 2 

Local Expenditures:  The bill does not require local school systems to offer CPR 
instruction; however if they choose to offer it, the Maryland State Department of 
Education (MSDE) advises that to provide CPR training to students, the local school 
systems will need to hire external consultants to teach CPR or train staff members in 
CPR instruction.        
 
According to MSDE, hiring an external consultant certified by the American Red Cross 
will cost approximately $50 per student.  Alternatively, training a staff member to be 
certified by the American Red Cross to teach CPR will cost approximately $350 per staff 
member.  The American Red Cross instructor training course is 32 hours spread over 
six days.  The American Heart Association Heartsaver instructor course requires 
eight hours of instruction and is offered through independent businesses.  The cost of this 
instructor course is currently unknown.  Staff trained in CPR instruction may also need to 
take periodic refresher courses. 
 
MSDE advises the following materials will be needed to offer the American Red Cross 
CPR course: 
 

• one adult Red Cross manikin at $200 or one infant Red Cross manikin at $100; 

• student workbooks for each student; 

• instructor materials; and 

• cleaning materials for manikins. 
 
MSDE advises the following materials will be needed to offer the American Heart 
Association Heartsaver CPR for Schools course: 
 

• Heartsaver CPR in Schools student workbook at $8.50 each; 

• Heartsaver and Family & Friends® instructor manuals at $45 each; 

• Heartsaver manikins at $50 to $300 per manikin; 

• cleaning materials for manikins. 
 
The preamble recommends that local boards pursue partnerships with local chapters of 
the American Red Cross and the American Heart Association, local career and volunteer 
fire and emergency medical services and ambulance companies, local hospitals and 
health systems, and medical associations to provide CPR instruction to high school 
students at a cost that accommodates local education budgets.  It is unknown if local 
school systems will be able to form these cooperative partnerships or if these partnerships 
will reduce the cost of providing CPR instruction. 
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Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.   
 
Cross File:  None.   
 
Information Source(s):  Maryland State Department of Education, Maryland Institute 
for Emergency Medical Services Systems, WebMD, Department of Legislative Services         
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/mwc 

First Reader - March 16, 2009 
 

 
Analysis by:  Caroline L. Boice  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 

 




