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  State Board of Cosmetologists - Makeup Artist Services  
 

 
This bill requires that makeup artists be licensed in order to practice in the State.  A 
limited license to provide makeup artist services authorizes the holder to apply creams, 
lotions, cosmetic preparations, and cleansing solutions to an individual’s face for 
compensation.  An applicant for a limited license to practice makeup artist services must 
be at least 17 years old, have completed a ninth grade education or its equivalent, and 
have completed an approved course in makeup artist services.  No examination is 
required.  The fee for a limited license to provide makeup artist services is $25.  
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  General fund revenues increase by $43,800 in FY 2010 due to issuance of 
licenses to comply with the bill’s requirements.  Future years reflect biennial license 
renewal and marginal increases in new makeup artist licenses.  General fund expenditures 
may increase minimally to enforce the licensing requirements of makeup artists. 
  

(in dollars) FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 
GF Revenue $43,800 $9,400 $45,400 $11,000 $47,100 
GF Expenditure - - - - - 
Net Effect $43,800 $9,400 $45,400 $11,000 $47,100  
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

  
Local Effect:  None.   
  
Small Business Effect:  Potential minimal.     
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Analysis 
 
Current Law/Background:  Chapter 18 of 2008 repealed requirements for makeup 
artists to be licensed by the State Board of Cosmetologists before providing makeup artist 
services in the State.   
 
In 2008, the Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation (DLLR) cited several 
reasons for the repeal of the license requirements for individuals who provided makeup 
artist services.  For example, makeup artist services are widely available outside of a 
permitted beauty salon.  Also, services provided in department stores or private venues 
were routinely performed by individuals without a limited license.  DLLR had 
determined that enforcement of limited licensing requirements was impractical and did 
not appreciably improve public health or safety.  Furthermore, Maryland was the only 
State to still regulate makeup artist services, with similar laws repealed in all other states 
that had previously regulated these services.      
 
Individuals are required to be licensed by the State Board of Cosmetologists before 
practicing cosmetology in the State.  Individuals who provide esthetic services or nail 
technician services are authorized to practice under a limited license issued by the board. 
 
The Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC) advises that five private career 
schools offer approved programs in makeup artistry. 
 
State Fiscal Effect:  DLLR advises that there are about 2,300 former licensees.  
The majority of these individuals – because they were licensed as recently as last year – 
will likely resume licensed status in fiscal 2010 to comply with the bill.  Due to the weak 
economic conditions, however, it is assumed that not all former licensees “renew” in 
fiscal 2010.  Nevertheless, Legislative Services estimates that about 1,700 of the 
2,300 former licensees become licensed in fiscal 2010 and 300 more do so in fiscal 2011.  
General fund revenues increase by approximately $43,750 in fiscal 2010 due to the 
“renewal” of 1,700 former licensees and the licensure of 50 new individuals.  
Fiscal 2011 general fund revenues increase by $9,375, which accounts for the “renewal” 
of 300 more former licensees and 75 new licensees.  Future year revenues reflect biennial 
license renewal and an annual 3% growth rate in new licenses issued.    
 
Before removing the licensing requirements, makeup artist licensing represented a small 
portion of the activity of the board.  Thus, any expenditure increases as a result of the 
issuance of licenses can likely be handled with existing resources.  However, 
expenditures for the State Board of Cosmetologists, which oversees the licensing of 
makeup artists, may increase minimally to enforce the bill’s licensing requirement.  
According to DLLR, in recent years the board has lost resources critical to the 
enforcement of its various licensees.  Because the services of makeup artists pose little 
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threat to the health and safety of consumers, the board is not likely to make enforcement 
of makeup artists a priority.  Nevertheless, Legislative Services assumes that the board 
must attempt to enforce compliance with any regulatory area.   
 
MHEC advises that the bill has a minimal operational impact on the agency due to the 
requirement that makeup artist programs at postsecondary schools must be approved by 
the commission.  The commission had this function before the licensing requirements for 
makeup artists were removed; any related fiscal impact can be handled with existing 
commission resources. 
 
Additional Comments:  DLLR advises that there is no procedure specifically governing 
the transition of former licensees back to licensure status.  According to the department, 
the only viable option to have these individuals relicensed is to reinstate the expired 
license.  Doing so requires the former licensees to pay a $25 renewal fee and a 
$25 reinstatement fee.  Legislative Services disagrees as reinstatement provisions are not 
included in the bill and reinstatement does not seem to apply to a licensure classification 
that no longer existed – licensees did not simply “fail to renew” their licenses.  Moreover, 
reinstatement confers no benefit to the licensee as any former licensee has already met 
the threshold for licensure and there is no examination requirement that could be waived 
with reinstatement.  Legislative Services believes that the bill is not intended to require 
former licensees to pay twice as much to “renew” a license as first-time licensees pay for 
a new license  
 
The bill restores all licensing requirements for makeup artists that were in place prior to 
Chapter 18 of 2008 except the requirement of individuals licensed as makeup artists to 
carry the license and display it upon request.  Instead, as for the other holders of limited 
licenses, the license must be displayed conspicuously in the licensee’s office or place of 
employment.        
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.   
 
Cross File:  None.   
 
Information Source(s):  Maryland Higher Education Commission; Department of 
Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; Department of Legislative Services         
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