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  The Delegate John Arnick Electronic Communications Traffic Safety Act 
 

 
This bill prohibits a driver from using a text messaging device to write or send a text 
message while operating a motor vehicle in motion or in the travel portion of the 
roadway.  A violator is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a maximum fine of $500.  
The prohibition does not apply to the use of a global positioning system or the use of a 
text messaging device to contact a 9-1-1 system. 
 
A “text messaging device” means a hand-held device to send a text message or an 
electronic message via a short message service, wireless telephone service, or electronic 
communication network. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Minimal general fund revenue increase from the penalty provision 
applicable to this offense.  The increase in the District Court caseload is expected to be 
minimal and can be handled with existing resources. 
  
Local Effect:  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  A wireless communication device means a hand-held or hands-free 
device used to access a wireless telephone service or a text messaging device.  A “text 
messaging device” is not specifically defined in the Maryland Vehicle Law. 
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There are no restrictions applicable to adults in the Maryland Vehicle Law governing the 
use of hand-held telephones or electronic devices while driving.  However, except to 
contact a 9-1-1 system in an emergency, a minor holding a learner’s permit or provisional 
license is prohibited from using a wireless communication device while operating a 
motor vehicle.  This prohibition on novice drivers is only enforceable as a secondary 
action.  A violator is subject to a maximum fine of $500 and assessment of one point 
against the driving record.  The prepayment penalty assessed by the District Court is $70, 
or $110 and three points if the violation contributes to an accident.  A violator is also 
subject to license suspension for up to 90 days by the Motor Vehicle Administration.  
(See Transportation Article § 21-1124.) 
 
A person is guilty of negligent driving if the person drives in a careless or imprudent 
manner that endangers property or human life.  A negligent driving violation requires the 
assessment of one point against the driving record and is a misdemeanor subject to a 
maximum fine of $500.  The prepayment penalty assessed by the District Court for this 
offense is $140.  If the offense contributes to an accident, the penalty increases to $280 
and three points are assessed against the driver’s license.  (See Transportation Article § 
21-901.1.) 
 
Background:  According to the Governors’ Highway Safety Association, seven states 
and the District of Columbia specifically prohibit driving while texting.  Washington was 
the first state to enact such a law in May 2007, and New Jersey enacted a similar 
provision in November 2007.  Alaska’s statewide ban on driving while texting became 
effective on September 1, 2008.  Other statewide bans have been implemented in 
California, Connecticut, Louisiana, and Minnesota.  At least one major city – Phoenix, 
Arizona – has this prohibition within its city limits.  In addition to Maryland, at least four 
other states have considered a statewide ban on texting while driving. 
 
General statewide restrictions on cell phone use while in a motor vehicle may effectively 
make driving while texting illegal.  California, Connecticut, New Jersey, New York, 
Washington, and the District of Columbia prohibit all drivers from using hand-held 
phones while operating motor vehicles.  Since texting requires a cell phone to be held in 
the hand, these laws appear to prohibit that activity.  Seventeen states and the District of 
Columbia prohibit wireless communication device use by younger drivers.  Among those 
states, California and Maine prohibit all drivers younger than age 18 from using any type 
of wireless communication device while driving.  The other jurisdictions, including 
Maryland, prohibit drivers with instructional permits or provisional licenses younger than 
age 18 from using a wireless communication device while operating a motor vehicle. 
 
Experts estimate that the nearly 250 million wireless phone users in the United States sent 
about 158 billion text messages in 2006.  It is unknown how many of these messages 
were sent while people were operating motor vehicles, but driving while texting appears 
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to be a growing trend.  A study by Nationwide Insurance estimated that 20% of all 
drivers send or receive text messages.  A Zogby poll of drivers between the ages of 
18 and 24 revealed that 66% confessed to texting while driving. 
 
While few studies have quantified the distraction caused by texting while driving, and no 
state has published data showing a link between texting and vehicle accidents, experts 
have estimated that driver inattention is a factor in 80% of motor vehicle crashes and 
65% of near crashes.  As a result, driver distraction appears to be a factor in about 
4.9 million accidents, causing 34,000 fatalities and 2.1 million injuries.  While a number 
of states require law enforcement officers to document the use of wireless devices, 
especially cell phones, at the scene of an accident, the reliability of data gathered at the 
accident scene has been subject to challenge. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  HB 380 of 2008 received an unfavorable report from the House 
Environmental Matters Committee.   
 
Cross File:  HB 72 is not designated as a cross file; however, it is identical.   
 
Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of 
State Police, Maryland Department of Transportation, Governors Highway Safety 
Association, Department of Legislative Services  
 
Fiscal Note History:  
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