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Senate Bill 558 (Senators King and Peters) 

Judicial Proceedings    
 

  State Government - Notary Public - Fees 
 

 
This bill requires the Secretary of State to adopt regulations establishing fees not to 
exceed $2 for each notarial act and authorizes a notary public to charge Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS) standard mileage rates and an hourly fee of $15, or a higher amount set by 
the Secretary of State.  The requirement that the Secretary of State set an appropriate 
lesser fee for other notarial acts and the authority of a notary public to charge a certain 
fee for travel are repealed. 
 
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  None.  Fees for notary services are collected and kept by the notaries 
public who provide the services. 
  
Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  Minimal.  Small businesses and individuals may pay higher fees 
to have documents notarized.  Revenues for individuals serving as notaries public may 
increase. 
 
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  The Secretary of State is required to adopt regulations establishing fees 
for notary services that do not exceed $2 per original notarial act and an appropriate 
lesser fee for the repetition of that notarial act or to make a copy of the matter addressed 
by the original notarial act.  A notary public may also charge $0.19 per mile, or a higher 
amount set by regulation, and a fee of up to $5 as compensation for travel.   
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Current regulations adopted by the Secretary of State set fees of $2 for the performance 
of an original notarial act and $1 for each additional copy of the same document and 
allow notaries to charge up to $0.31 per mile and a fee not to exceed $5 for travel 
required to perform a notarial act. 
 
“Notarial act” is defined by regulation to mean any act that a notary public of this State is 
authorized to perform, and includes taking an acknowledgment, administering an oath or 
affirmation, acting as an official witness to the execution of a document, and noting 
a protest of a negotiable instrument. 
 
Notaries public are appointed by the Governor upon the approval of their application by 
the Senator representing the senatorial district in which they reside.  Applications by 
individuals who live outside of Maryland but work in the State may be approved by any 
Senator.  Applicants pay a processing fee of $20.  Notaries must be at least 18 years of 
age, be of good moral character and integrity, and live or work in the State.  Their 
commissions last for four years, after which they may apply for reappointment by the 
Secretary of State. 
 

Background:  There are currently 86,500 active commissioned notaries in Maryland.  
Notary fees were last raised in 1982 to their current level of $2.  Exhibit 1 provides 
information on notary fees in surrounding jurisdictions. 
 
 

Exhibit 1 
Notary Public Fees in Maryland and Surrounding Jurisdictions 

 
Jurisdiction Application Fee Term Notary Fee1 Bond Required 

     
Delaware $53-$90 2-4 years $5 None 
District of Columbia $50 5 years $2 $2,000 
Maryland $20 4 years $2 None 
Pennsylvania2 $40 4 years $5 $10,000 
Virginia  $45 4 years $5 None 
West Virginia $52 10 years $2 None 

 
1Except in Pennsylvania, these fees apply to each notarial act.  In Pennsylvania, this fee structure applies 
only to executing acknowledgements, the most common notarial act. 
 
2 The notary fee is $5 for first document/$2 for each successive document. 
 

Source:  Secretaries of State and notary handbooks from neighboring states 
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Virginia allows a notary to request actual travel expenses, at a rate to be agreed upon by 
the client, if required to travel to perform the notarial act.  Pennsylvania allows a notary 
to charge a clerical or administrative fee for services they have provided in addition to the 
notarization of a document such as copying documents, postage, phone calls, or 
completing forms. 
 
For 2009, the IRS standard mileage rate for the cost of operating your car for business 
use is $0.55 per mile. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  SB 4 of 2008 and HB 916 of 2007 would have increased the limit 
on fees for notary services from $2 to $3 and $2 to $4, respectively.  SB 4 passed the 
Senate, but both bills received unfavorable reports from the House Health and 
Government Operations Committee.   
 
Cross File:  HB 555 (Delegate Barve) - Health and Government Operations. 
 
Information Source(s):  Secretary of State, Department of Legislative Services 
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/hlb  

First Reader - February 20, 2009 
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