HOUSE BILL 1201

L2, M3 0lr3191 By: Calvert County Delegation Introduced and read first time: February 18, 2010 Assigned to: Environmental Matters Committee Report: Favorable House action: Adopted Read second time: March 24, 2010 CHAPTER _____ AN ACT concerning Calvert County - Noise Control Ordinance FOR the purpose of authorizing the County Commissioners of Calvert County to enact an ordinance adopting environmental noise standards, sound level limits, and certain noise controls under certain circumstances, authorizing the Calvert County Sheriff's Office to enforce the ordinance, and providing that a violation of the ordinance is a civil offense subject to a certain fine; and generally relating to noise control in Calvert County. BY adding to The Public Local Laws of Calvert County Section 13–101 to be under the new title "Title 13. Noise Control" Article 5 – Public Local Laws of Maryland (2002 Edition and May 2008 Supplement, as amended) SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows: Article 5 - Calvert County TITLE 13. NOISE CONTROL.

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

1415

16

17

18

13-101.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.

1 2 3	SUBJECT TO § 3–105 OF THE ENVIRONMENT ARTICLE OF THE ANNOTATED CODE OF MARYLAND, THE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS MAY ENACT AN ORDINANCE THAT:
4 5 6	(1) ADOPTS ENVIRONMENTAL NOISE STANDARDS, SOUND LEVEL LIMITS, AND NOISE CONTROLS AS NECESSARY TO PROTECT THE PUBLIC HEALTH, THE GENERAL WELFARE, AND PROPERTY;
7 8	(2) AUTHORIZES THE CALVERT COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE TO ENFORCE THE ORDINANCE; AND
9 10	(3) PROVIDES THAT A VIOLATION OF THE ORDINANCE IS A CIVIL OFFENSE SUBJECT TO A FINE NOT TO EXCEED \$10,000.
11 12	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 2010.
	Approved:
	Governor.
	Speaker of the House of Delegates.
	President of the Senate.