HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 10

C5, E4 0lr1247

By: Delegates Love, Schuh, Beidle, Dwyer, Kipke, and Sophocleus

Introduced and read first time: February 18, 2010 Assigned to: Rules and Executive Nominations

A House Joint Resolution concerning

1

3

24

25

26

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

Correctional Facilities

2	Targeted Interference with Wireless Communication Service Within

- FOR the purpose of urging the United States Congress to pass legislation allowing targeted interference with wireless communication service within correctional facilities; and generally relating to wireless communication service.
- WHEREAS, The presence of cellular telephones within correctional facilities is a significant problem; and
- 9 WHEREAS, More than 1,100 cellular telephones were recovered from Maryland 10 correctional facilities in fiscal 2009; and
- WHEREAS, Cellular telephones are illegal devices when used inside correctional facilities and can aid inmates in orchestrating violent and other illegal activities within prison and in the community; and
- WHEREAS, Federal law prohibits the jamming of any type of cellular telephone device or signal for any reason; and
- WHEREAS, Legislation is needed to allow states to petition the Federal Communications Commission for permission to install devices that would prevent, jam, or interfere with wireless communication within correctional facilities; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the General Assembly urges the United States Congress to pass legislation to allow targeted interference with wireless communication service within correctional facilities; and be it further
 - RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Honorable Martin O'Malley, Governor of Maryland; the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; the



- 1 Honorable Michael E. Busch, Speaker of the House of Delegates and to the Maryland
- 2 Congressional Delegation: Senators Barbara A. Mikulski and Benjamin L. Cardin,
- 3 Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; and Representatives Frank M.
- 4 Kratovil, Jr., C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger III, John P. Sarbanes, Donna Edwards, Steny
- 5 Hamilton Hoyer, Roscoe G. Bartlett, Elijah E. Cummings, and Christopher Van
- 6 Hollen, Jr., House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515.