SENATE BILL 874

D1 0lr3293

By: Senators Frosh, Currie, and Miller

Introduced and read first time: February 15, 2010

Assigned to: Rules

25

A BILL ENTITLED

1	AN ACT concerning		
2 3	Judgeships – Circuit Courts and District Court – Creation in Areas of Greatest Certified Need		
4 5 6 7 8	FOR the purpose of altering the number of resident judges of the circuit court in certain judicial circuits; altering the number of associate judges of the District Court in certain districts; specifying the number of District Court judges to be appointed from certain counties; and generally relating to judgeships in the circuit courts and the District Court of Maryland.		
9 10 11 12 13	BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article – Courts and Judicial Proceedings Section 1–503 and 1–603(b) Annotated Code of Maryland (2006 Replacement Volume and 2009 Supplement)		
14 15 16 17 18	BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments, Article – Courts and Judicial Proceedings Section 1–602 Annotated Code of Maryland (2006 Replacement Volume and 2009 Supplement)		
19 20	SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:		
21	Article - Courts and Judicial Proceedings		
22	1–503.		
23 24	(a) In each county in the first seven judicial circuits there shall be the number of resident judges of the circuit court set forth below, including the judge or		

judges provided for by the Constitution:



1	(1)	Allegany
2	(2)	Anne Arundel
3	(3)	Baltimore County
4	(4)	Calvert
5	(5)	Caroline
6	(6)	Carroll
7	(7)	Charles
8	(8)	Cecil
9	(9)	Dorchester1
10	(10)	Frederick
11	(11)	Garrett
12	(12)	Harford5
13	(13)	Howard5
14	(14)	Kent
15	(15)	Montgomery
16	(16)	Prince George's
17	(17)	Queen Anne's
18	(18)	St. Mary's
19	(19)	Somerset
20	(20)	Talbot
21	(21)	Washington 5
22	(22)	Wicomico
23	(23)	Worcester 3

1 (b) In Baltimore City there shall be [33] **34** resident judges of the Circuit 2 Court for Baltimore City. 3 1-602.4 For the purposes of operation and administration of the District Court, the State is divided into the following districts: 5 6 (1) District 1 — Baltimore City. 7 (2) District 2 — Dorchester, Wicomico, Somerset, and Worcester 8 counties. 9 (3) District 3 — Caroline, Talbot, Queen Anne's, Kent, and Cecil 10 counties. 11 District 4 — Charles, St. Mary's, and Calvert counties. (4) 12 District 5 — Prince George's County. (5)13 District 6 — Montgomery County. (6)District 7 — Anne Arundel County. 14 (7)District 8 — Baltimore County. 15 (8)16 (9)District 9 — Harford County. District 10 — Howard and Carroll counties. 17 (10)18 (11)District 11 — Frederick and Washington counties. District 12 — Allegany and Garrett counties. 19 (12)20 1-603.21In each of the districts provided for in § 1–602 of this subtitle, there shall (b) 22be the following number of associate judges of the District Court: 23 District 1 — [27] 28 (1) 24**(2)** District 2 — 6, two to be appointed from Wicomico County and two 25 to be appointed from Worcester County

District 3 — 6, two to be appointed from Cecil County

26

(3)

SENATE BILL 874

$\frac{1}{2}$	(4) [two] THREE to be	District 4 — [5] 6, two to be appointed from Calvert County and appointed from Charles County
3	(5)	District 5 — [15] 16
4	(6)	District 6 — [11] 12
5	(7)	District 7 — 9
6	(8)	District 8 — 13
7	(9)	District 9 — [4] 5
8 9	(10) to be appointed from	District $10 - 7$, two to be appointed from Carroll County and five om Howard County
10 11		District 11 — [5] 6 , three to be appointed from Frederick County to be appointed from Washington County
12	(12)	District 12 — 3, two to be appointed from Allegany County
13 14	SECTION 2 October 1, 2010.	AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect