Joint Resolution 1

(House Joint Resolution 3)

A House Joint Resolution concerning

Governor's Salary Commission – Salary Recommendations for Governor and Lieutenant Governor

FOR the purpose of establishing the salaries to be paid the Governor and Lieutenant Governor, as directed by Article II, Section 21A of the Maryland Constitution, for the 4-year term of office beginning January 19, 2011 rejecting certain recommendations of the Governor's Salary Commission in accordance with Article II, Section 21A of the Maryland Constitution for the 4-year term of office beginning January 19, 2011, that address the salaries to be paid to the Governor and Lieutenant Governor.

WHEREAS, Article II, Section 21A of the Maryland Constitution established a seven—member Governor's Salary Commission composed of the State Treasurer, three members appointed by the President of the Senate, and three members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates. The Governor's Salary Commission is currently constituted as follows: Nancy K. Kopp, State Treasurer; E. Steuart Chaney, Barry Gossett, and Robert R. Neall, appointed by the President of the Senate; and Howard S. Pinskey, George L. Russell, Jr., and Konrad M. Wayson, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates. The Commission elected George L. Russell, Jr., as Chair; and

WHEREAS, Pursuant to Article II, Section 21A of the Maryland Constitution, this Joint Resolution may be amended to decrease, but not increase, the salaries recommended by the Governor's Salary Commission. The salaries may not be decreased below their January 2010 levels. If the General Assembly fails to adopt a Joint Resolution in accordance with Article II, Section 21A within 50 calendar days after introduction of this Joint Resolution, the salaries recommended by the Governor's Salary Commission shall apply effective January 19, 2011. If the General Assembly amends this Joint Resolution, the salaries specified in the Joint Resolution, as amended, shall apply; and

WHEREAS, At the meetings conducted in December 2009, the Commission evaluated gubernatorial compensation relative to a number of principles: growth in the responsibilities of the office, compensation commensurate with the stature of this high office, changes in the cost of living, maintenance of a reasonable differential between the Governor's salary and of other major State officials in Maryland, and acceptable comparability with salaries of the governors of other states. The Commission selected tentative salaries for the two offices and solicited public views regarding its proposals. Thereafter, the Commission made its final determinations

which are presented in this Resolution and discussed in the Commission's Report, dated January 2010; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That pursuant to Article II, Section 21A of the Maryland Constitution, the annual salaries recommended by the Governor's Salary Commission be adopted as follows, to be effective January 19, 2011, for the 4–year term of office:

Governor: \$150,000; and

For the first year, \$150,000:

For the second year, \$150,000;

For the third year, \$155,000; and

For the fourth year, \$160,000; and

Lieutenant Governor: \$125,000

For the first year, \$125,000;

For the second year, \$125,000;

For the third year, \$129,167; and

For the fourth year, \$133,333; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Honorable Martin O'Malley, Governor of Maryland; the Honorable Anthony G. Brown, Lieutenant Governor; and T. Eloise Foster, Secretary of Budget and Management.

Signed by the President and the Speaker, May 20, 2010.