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Child Abuse and Neglect - Reports and Records - Disclosure to Division of Parole
and Probation

This bill requires the disclosure of a report or record concerning child abuse or neglect to
the Division of Parole and Probation if, as a result of a report or investigation of
suspected child abuse or neglect, the local department of social services has reason to
believe that an individual who lives in or has a regular presence in a child’s home is
registered on the sexual offender registry based on the commission of an offense against a
child.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The Department of Human Resources (DHR) can handle the bill’s
requirements using existing resources.

Local Effect: None.
Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: All records and reports about child abuse and neglect are confidential;
however, records of child abuse or neglect must be disclosed pursuant to an order of the
court or an administrative law judge and, under certain circumstances and on a written
request, to the Baltimore City Health Department. Child abuse and neglect records may
be disclosed on request to employees or persons of interest as specified in statute,
including specified personnel of DHR and local departments of social services, law
enforcement personnel, and individuals who are providing treatment or care to a child



who is the subject of a report of child abuse or neglect. Unauthorized disclosure of child
abuse or neglect records is a misdemeanor and is subject to up to 90 days imprisonment
and/or a fine of up to $500.

Generally, a person convicted of a sex crime or other specified crime in Maryland,
including kidnapping and false imprisonment, is required to register with the State sex
offender registry upon release from prison or release from court if the person did not
receive a prison sentence. Offenders who are required to register in other states and who
come to Maryland are required to register upon entering Maryland. Offenders from other
states who may not be required to register in the home state are required to register in
Maryland if the crime would have required registration in Maryland if committed in
Maryland. Juveniles who are adjudicated delinquent for these offenses through the
juvenile court system are not included in the registry.

Sexual offenders are required to register, every three months or every six months, with
the Crimes Against Children and Sexual Offender Registry for a term of either 10 years
or life depending on the offense. Registration must include a photograph, which must be
updated at least annually. The registry is operated by the Sexual Offender Registry unit
of the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services. Under the State’s sexual
offender registration laws, a State’s Attorney may request that a sexual offender be
designated a sexually violent predator. Lifetime registration is required for (1) sexually
violent predators; (2) persons convicted of a sexually violent offense; (3) persons
convicted of child abuse for commission of a sexual act involving penetration of a child
under 12 years old; and (4) recidivist sexual offenders.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: SB 892 is designated as a cross file, however, the bills are not identical.
Information Source(s):  Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, Montgomery, and St. Mary’s
counties; Department of State Police; Department of Public Safety and Correctional

Services; Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 15, 2010
ncs/hlb Revised - House Third Reader - April 7, 2010
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