# Department of Legislative Services

Maryland General Assembly 2010 Session

### FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE

House Bill 863(Delegate Hubbard, *et al.*)Health and Government OperationsEducation, Health, and Environmental Affairs

#### **Maryland Professional Counselors and Therapists Act - Corrections**

This bill clarifies that an applicant for licensure to practice clinical marriage and family therapy must hold a master's or doctoral degree in a marriage and family field from an accredited educational institution approved by the State Board of Professional Counselors and Therapists. In addition, the bill increases the number of credit hours an applicant for certification as a professional alcohol and drug counselor must have in alcohol and drug training from 26 to 27. An applicant seeking certification as an associate alcohol and drug counselor must have a minimum of 21 credit hours in alcohol and drug training, up from 20.

#### **Fiscal Summary**

State Effect: None. The bill clarifies current law.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

#### Analysis

**Current Law:** Licensed clinical marriage and family therapists and certified counselors-alcohol and drug (both professional and associate) are regulated by the State Board of Professional Counselors and Therapists. In 2009, the board oversaw 4,855 licensees. There are currently 177 active licensed clinical marriage and family therapists, 727 certified professional alcohol and drug counselors, and 771 certified associate alcohol and drug counselors in the State.

To qualify as a licensed clinical marriage and family therapist, an individual has to hold either a master's or a doctoral degree in a marriage and family field, with instruction in several specified specialized areas; have completed at least 60 graduate credit hours in other specified areas of instruction; have completed at least two years and 2,000 hours of supervised experience after award of the degree, as well as two years of supervised clinical experience; and pass an examination in marital and family therapy.

To qualify as a certified professional counselor-alcohol and drug, an applicant has to hold a master's or doctoral degree in a health and human services counseling field; have completed at least 26 credit hours in alcohol and drug counseling training; and have completed at least three years with a minimum of 2,000 hours of clinically supervised experience in alcohol and drug counseling approved by the board, two years of which have to have been completed after the applicant is awarded his or her master's or doctoral degree.

To qualify as a certified associate counselor-alcohol and drug, an applicant has to have completed a bachelor's degree in a counseling field; completed at least three years of supervised experience in alcohol and drug counseling approved by the board, two years of which must have been completed after the applicant is awarded his or her bachelor's degree; and completed at least 20 credit hours of clinically supervised experience in alcohol and drug counselor sociate counselor-alcohol and drug has to practice under the supervision of a certified professional counselor-alcohol and drug or another health care provider approved by the board, or provide alcohol and drug counseling as an employee of an accredited agency or facility.

## **Additional Information**

Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: None.

**Information Source(s):** Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Department of Legislative Services

**Fiscal Note History:** First Reader - February 22, 2010 ncs/mcr

Analysis by: Erin McMullen

Direct Inquiries to: (410) 946-5510 (301) 970-5510