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FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE 
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Judiciary   

 

Criminal Procedure - Offender Registry - Indecent Exposure 
 

   

This bill expands the definition of “offender” for purposes of the Crimes Against 

Children and Sexual Offender Registry to include a person who is ordered by a court to 

register and who has been convicted of indecent exposure, if the victim is under 18 years 

of age. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  None.  The bill’s requirements can be handled with existing budgeted 

resources of the State’s sex offender registry. 

  

Local Effect:  None. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Indecent exposure is a common law offense.  The meaning accorded to 

the offense is judicially determined and based on case law.  It is regarded as a general 

intent crime that includes within its scope an innumerable variety of offenses, including 

acts that are reckless or negligent.  It is not necessarily sexual in nature. 

 

A person convicted of indecent exposure is guilty of a misdemeanor and is subject to 

maximum penalties of imprisonment for three years and/or a fine of $1,000. 
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Maryland has four categories of persons convicted of sexual offenses:  (1) a child sexual 

offender; (2) an offender; (3) a sexually violent offender; and (4) a sexually violent 

predator.   

 

“Offender” means a person who is ordered by a court to register with the State’s sexual 

offender registry and who:   

 

 has been convicted of child kidnapping;  

 kidnapping;  

 fourth degree sexual offense, if the victim is under 18;  

 false imprisonment, if the victim is under 18 and the person is not the victim’s 

parent;  

 a crime that involves soliciting a person under 18 to engage in sexual conduct;  

 production or distribution of child pornography;  

 prostitution or related criminal prohibitions if the intended prostitute or victim is 

under 18;  

 any crime that involves conduct that by its nature is a sexual offense against a 

person under 18;  

 an attempt to commit any of these offenses; or  

 has been convicted in another state or in a federal, military, or Native American 

tribal court of a crime that, if committed in Maryland, would constitute one of 

these crimes. 

 

“Child sexual offender” means a person who: 

 

 has been convicted of sexual abuse of a minor;  

 has been convicted of first or second degree rape or first, second, or third degree 

sexual offense involving a child under age 15;  

 has been convicted of fourth degree sexual offense involving such a child and has 

been ordered by the court to register under these provisions; or  

 has been convicted in another state or in a federal, military, or Native American 

tribal court of a crime that, if committed in this State, would constitute one of 

these crimes.  

 

“Sexually violent predator” means a person who is convicted of a sexually violent 

offense and who has been determined to be at risk of committing another sexually violent 

offense.  Also included under this definition are persons who are or were required to 
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register every 90 days for life under the laws of another state or a federal, military, or 

Native American tribal jurisdiction. 

 

“Sexually violent offender” means a person who has been convicted of a sexually violent 

offense or who has been convicted of an attempt to commit a sexually violent offense. 

 

“Sexually violent offense” is defined as first or second degree rape; first, second, or third 

degree sexual offense; attempted rape or sexual offense; or assault with intent to commit 

first or second degree rape or first or second degree sexual offense as prohibited under 

Maryland’s criminal code on or before September 30, 1996.  Also included under this 

definition are certain crimes that were committed in another state or in a federal, military, 

or Native American tribal jurisdiction. 

 

Background:  In State v. Duran, 407 Md. 532 (2009), the Court of Appeals held that a 

defendant who pled guilty to indecent exposure based upon three separate incidents in 

which he exposed himself to various girls of middle school age could not be required to 

register as a sex offender, because indecent exposure is not a statutorily enumerated 

crime requiring registration and is not a crime “that by its nature is a sexual offense” 

under Section 11-701(d)(7) of the Criminal Procedure Article.  

 

A review of the Maryland Sentencing Guidelines database indicates that 17 offenders 

were convicted of indecent exposure in the circuit courts in fiscal 2009.           

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy, Judiciary 

(Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of State Police, Office of the Public 

Defender, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, Department of 

Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 18, 2010 

 mpc/hlb 

 

Analysis by:   Guy G. Cherry  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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