Department of Legislative Services

Maryland General Assembly 2010 Session

FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE

House Bill 297 Judiciary

(Delegate Stull, et al.)

Police Training Commission - Membership - Inclusion of Maryland Police Training Directors Association

This bill increases the membership of the Police Training Commission from 15 to 16 members by adding the President of the Maryland Police Training Directors Association.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Any expense reimbursements for the additional commission member are assumed to be minimal and absorbable within existing budgeted resources.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Chapter 286 of 1966 created the Police Training Commission. It is chaired by the Superintendent of State Police. The commission operates approved police training schools and prescribes standards for and certifies schools that offer police and security training. It may revoke a school's certification for cause. The commission sets minimum qualifications for instructors and certifies qualified instructors for approved training schools.

The commission certifies persons as police officers who have met commission standards. Persons not satisfactorily trained in the 12-month probationary period may not be employed as police officers. Nor may a police officer serve after certification has been revoked, suspended, or allowed to lapse.

Members of the commission are not compensated for their service, but are entitled to reimbursement for meeting attendance under the standard State travel allowance.

Background: The Maryland Police Training Directors Association is an association of police training directors from the 20 State-accredited police training academies across Maryland. The current active membership of the association includes the Anne Arundel County Police Academy, the Baltimore City Police Academy, the Baltimore County Police Academy, the Eastern Shore Criminal Justice Academy, the Frederick County Sheriff's Office Academy, the Frederick Police Academy, the Harford County Sheriff's Office Academy, the Howard County Police Academy, the Maryland Department of Natural Resources Police Academy, the Maryland State Police Academy, the Maryland Transportation Authority Police Academy, the Montgomery County Police Academy, the Prince George's County Municipal Academy, the Southern Maryland Police Academy, the University of Maryland Public Safety Academy, and the Western Maryland Police Academy.

While the president of the association is customarily invited to attend commission meetings, and has from time-to-time been consulted on specific issues, the association is not a voting member of the commission.

The Police Training Commission meets four times annually.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: SB 441 (Senator Robey) – Judicial Proceedings.

Information Source(s): Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services,

Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - February 4, 2010

mam/hlb

Analysis by: Guy G. Cherry Direct Inquiries to:

(410) 946-5510 (301) 970-5510