## **HOUSE BILL 167**

R2 1lr0139 CF SB 176

## By: The Speaker (By Request - Administration) and Delegates Stein and Cardin

Introduced and read first time: January 26, 2011

Assigned to: Environmental Matters and Economic Matters

Committee Report: Favorable with amendments

House action: Adopted

Read second time: March 8, 2011

CHAPTER \_\_\_\_\_

1 AN ACT concerning

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

16

## Maryland Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council

- FOR the purpose of establishing the Maryland Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council; specifying the membership and staffing of the Council; requiring the Governor to designate the chair or cochairs of the Council; requiring the Council to perform certain duties and make certain recommendations; prohibiting members of the Council from receiving certain compensation, but authorizing the reimbursement of certain expenses; requiring the Council to submit an interim and a final report by certain dates; defining certain terms; providing for the termination of this Act; and generally relating to the Maryland Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council.
- 12 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF 13 MARYLAND, That:
- 14 (a) In this section, "electric vehicle" or "EV" means any mode of electric drive transportation that is not operated on rails.
  - (b) There is a Maryland Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council.
- 17 (c) The Council consists of the following members:
- 18 (1) One member Two members of the Senate of Maryland, appointed by the President of the Senate;

## EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.

$\frac{1}{2}$	(2) by the Speaker of		nember Two members of the House of Delegates, appointed use;
3	(3)	The S	ecretary of Transportation or the Secretary's designee;
4	(4)	The S	ecretary of Planning or the Secretary's designee;
5	(5)	The S	ecretary of the Environment or the Secretary's designee;
6 7	(6) Secretary's design		Secretary of Business and Economic Development or the
8 9	(7) Maryland Public S		<del>Chairman</del> Executive Director of the Technical Staff of the Commission or the <del>Chairman's</del> Executive Director's designee;
10 11	(8) Director's designe		Director of the Maryland Energy Administration or the
12	(9)	The fo	ollowing members appointed by the Governor:
13 14 15	<u>institution</u> of high the environment;	(i) er educ	Two representatives of institutions One representative of an ation in the State with expertise in energy, transportation, or
16 17	Counties;	(ii)	Two representatives of the Maryland Association of
18		(iii)	Two representatives of the Maryland Municipal League;
19 20	Initiative;	(iv)	One representative of the Baltimore Electric Vehicle
21 22	State;	(v)	Three Two representatives of electric companies in the
23 24	<del>dealers</del> One repre	(vi) <u>sentativ</u>	Two representatives of electric vehicle manufacturers or ve of an electric vehicle manufacturer;
25 26	equipment represe	(vii) entative	One member with expertise in electric vehicle charging e of a manufacturer of electric vehicle charging stations;
27		(viii)	One representative of fleet vehicle operators;
28		(ix)	One representative of electrical workers;

$\frac{1}{2}$	environmental co	(x) mmunit	<del>One</del> y;	<del>repres</del>	<del>entative</del>	Two	representa	atives	<u>s</u> of	the
3 4	transportation po	(xi) blicy; <del>and</del>	One <del>l</del>	public	member	with	expertise	in	energy	or
5 6	Association;	<u>(xii)</u>	One	represen	tative of	the Ma	aryland Au	<u>tomol</u>	oile Dea	<u>alers</u>
7 8	Cities Coalition;	(xiii) and	One r	represent	cative of th	<u>e Great</u>	er Washing	ton F	Region C	<u>lean</u>
9		(xii) (x	<u>kiv)</u> Ar	ny additio	onal memb	ers app	ointed by th	ne Go	vernor.	
10	(d) The	Governo	or shal	ll designa	ate the cha	ir or coo	chairs of the	Cou	ncil.	
11 12 13	(e) The Council with the Public Service Co	assista	nce of		-	-	orovide staf dministratio	-	-	
14	(f) A m	ember of	f the C	Council:						
15	(1)	May n	ot rec	eive com	pensation	as a me	mber of the	Cour	ncil; but	
16 17	(2) Travel Regulation					-	ses under th	ie Sta	indard S	State
18	(g) The	Council	shall:							
19 20	(1) successful integra						te the <del>rapi</del> ransportation			<del>ìless</del>
21 22 23	streamlined perr stations and supp	nitting a	and in	stallatio	~		ng statewic nd commer			
24 25	(3) infrastructure pla		_			<del></del> '	ewide <del>meter</del> public char	_		
26 27	(4) through public or		ase co	nsumer	awareness	s and d	lemand for	elect	cric veh	icles
28 29 30	(5) incentives to su investment in ele	apport (	electri		_	_	monetary a d maximiz			

$\frac{1}{2}$	vehicles;	(6)	Develop targeted policies to support fleet purchases of electric
3 4	units;	(7)	Develop charging solutions for existing and future multidwelling
5 6	vehicles and	(8) d attra	Encourage local and regional efforts to promote the use of electric act federal funding for State and local EV programs;
7 8 9			Investigate how EV charging will impact electricity demand and to increase off-peak charging and Recommend policies that support clean energy sources;
10 11	employmen	(10) t, infra	Establish performance measures for meeting EV-related astructure, and regulatory goals; and
12 13	electric veh	(11) icles in	Pursue other goals and objectives that promote the utilization of a the State.
14 15 16	-		On or before January 1, 2012, the Council shall submit an interimed and recommendations to the Governor and, subject to § 2–1246 of ment Article, the General Assembly.
17 18 19			On or before December 1, 2012, the Council shall submit a final and recommendations to the Governor and, subject to § 2–1246 of ment Article, the General Assembly.
20 21 22 23	July 1, 2011 2013, with	l. It sh no fu	2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect nall remain effective for a period of 2 years and, at the end of June 30, rther action required by the General Assembly, this Act shall be no further force and effect.
	Approved:		
			Governor.
			Speaker of the House of Delegates.

President of the Senate.