## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 2**

P5

1lr1311 CF 1lr1305

## By: Delegate Beitzel

Introduced and read first time: January 28, 2011 Assigned to: Rules and Executive Nominations

## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A House Joint Resolution concerning

## Inclusion of Garrett County in the Baltimore and Washington, D.C. Television Broadcast Market Areas

- 4 FOR the purpose of expressing certain findings of the General Assembly in connection  $\mathbf{5}$ with the ability of Garrett County residents to receive broadcasts from 6 Baltimore and Washington, D.C. television stations; and urging the Maryland  $\mathbf{7}$ Delegation to Congress to encourage the Federal Communications Commission 8 to amend its market determination regulations and to sponsor and support any 9 necessary legislation in the United States Congress to allow Garrett County 10 residents to receive television broadcasts from stations in the Baltimore and Washington, D.C. designated television broadcast market areas. 11
- 12 WHEREAS, The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has regulatory 13 authority over cable and satellite television service; and

14 WHEREAS, Under federal law, cable and satellite television carriers must carry 15 the signals of local commercial broadcast television stations that request carriage in 16 counties that are designated by the FCC to be in the station's local television market 17 area; and

WHEREAS, Under federal law, cable and satellite television carriers are under
 no obligation to carry the signals of commercial broadcast television stations located in
 other television market areas that broadcast duplicate programming; and

- WHEREAS, In some circumstances, cable and satellite television carriers are prohibited by television network nonduplication or exclusivity agreements to carry the signals of broadcast television stations located in another television market area; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The FCC has designated Garrett County, Maryland, to be in the 25 Pittsburgh television market area; and



1 WHEREAS, As a consequence, cable and satellite television carriers in Garrett 2 County do not carry the signals of television stations located in the Baltimore and 3 Washington, D.C. designated market areas; and

4 WHEREAS, Garrett County residents are unable to view news coverage 5 relevant and important to them as Maryland residents, including coverage of 6 Maryland politics and elections of their public officials; and

WHEREAS, Garrett County residents are also unable to view sporting events
featuring their favorite teams broadcast on Baltimore and Washington, D.C. television
stations; and

10 WHEREAS, Numerous Garrett County residents have signed a petition 11 requesting that the FCC allow them to view Baltimore and Washington, D.C. 12 television stations; now, therefore, be it

13 RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the 14 General Assembly finds it is in the best interest of the residents of Garrett County to 15 be able to view broadcasts from stations located in the Baltimore and Washington, 16 D.C. television market areas so that they may know what is happening in their own 17 state; and be it further

18 RESOLVED, That the Maryland Delegation to Congress is urged to encourage 19 the FCC to amend its television market determination regulations and to sponsor and 20 support any necessary legislation in the United States Congress to allow Garrett 21 County residents to receive broadcasts from stations located in the Baltimore and 22 Washington, D.C. television market areas; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Honorable Martin O'Malley, Governor of Maryland; the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and the Honorable Michael E. Busch, Speaker of the House of Delegates; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
Legislative Services to the Maryland Congressional Delegation: Senators Barbara A.
Mikulski and Benjamin L. Cardin, Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510;
and Representatives Andrew P. Harris, C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger III, John P.
Sarbanes, Donna Edwards, Steny Hamilton Hoyer, Roscoe G. Bartlett, Elijah E.
Cummings, and Christopher Van Hollen, Jr., House Office Building, Washington, D.C.
20515; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
Legislative Services to the Honorable Julius Genachowski, Chairman of the Federal
Communications Commission, 445 12th Street S.W., Washington, D.C. 20554.