HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 4

C5, E4 HJ 10/10 – HRU

By: Delegates Love and Sophocleus

Introduced and read first time: February 4, 2011 Assigned to: Rules and Executive Nominations

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A House Joint Resolution concerning

Targeted Interference with Wireless Communication Service Within Correctional Facilities

- FOR the purpose of urging the United States Congress to pass legislation allowing
 targeted interference with wireless communication service within correctional
 facilities; and generally relating to wireless communication service.
- 7 WHEREAS, The presence of cellular telephones within correctional facilities is8 a significant problem; and
- 9 WHEREAS, More than 1,100 cellular telephones were recovered from Maryland 10 correctional facilities in fiscal 2010; and

11 WHEREAS, Cellular telephones are illegal devices when used inside 12 correctional facilities and can aid inmates in orchestrating violent and other illegal 13 activities within prison and in the community; and

14 WHEREAS, Federal law prohibits the jamming of any type of cellular telephone15 device or signal for any reason; and

16 WHEREAS, Legislation is needed to allow states to petition the Federal 17 Communications Commission for permission to install devices that would prevent, 18 jam, or interfere with wireless communication within correctional facilities; now, 19 therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the 21 General Assembly urges the United States Congress to pass legislation to allow 22 targeted interference with wireless communication service within correctional 23 facilities; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Honorable Martin O'Malley, Governor of Maryland; the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; the



1lr2093

 $\mathbf{2}$

- Honorable Michael E. Busch, Speaker of the House of Delegates; and the Maryland
 Congressional Delegation: Senators Barbara A. Mikulski and Benjamin L. Cardin,
 Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; and Representatives Andrew P.
 Harris, C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger III, John P. Sarbanes, Donna Edwards, Steny
 Hamilton Hoyer, Roscoe G. Bartlett, Elijah E. Cummings, and Christopher Van
- 6 Hollen, Jr., House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515.