SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 2

 $\begin{array}{c} 1lr1305 \\ CF\ HJ\ 2 \end{array}$

By: Senator Edwards

Introduced and read first time: January 28, 2011

Assigned to: Finance

2

3

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

1	A Senate Joint Resolution concerning

Inclusion of Garrett County in the Baltimore and Washington, D.C.
Television Broadcast Market Areas

4 FOR the purpose of expressing certain findings of the General Assembly in connection 5 with the ability of Garrett County residents to receive broadcasts from 6 Baltimore and Washington, D.C. television stations; and urging the Maryland 7 Delegation to Congress to encourage the Federal Communications Commission 8 to amend its market determination regulations and to sponsor and support any 9 necessary legislation in the United States Congress to allow Garrett County 10 residents to receive television broadcasts from stations in the Baltimore and Washington, D.C. designated television broadcast market areas. 11

WHEREAS, The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has regulatory authority over cable and satellite television service; and

WHEREAS, Under federal law, cable and satellite television carriers must carry the signals of local commercial broadcast television stations that request carriage in counties that are designated by the FCC to be in the station's local television market area; and

WHEREAS, Under federal law, cable and satellite television carriers are under no obligation to carry the signals of commercial broadcast television stations located in other television market areas that broadcast duplicate programming; and

WHEREAS, In some circumstances, cable and satellite television carriers are prohibited by television network nonduplication or exclusivity agreements to carry the signals of broadcast television stations located in another television market area; and

WHEREAS, The FCC has designated Garrett County, Maryland, to be in the Pittsburgh television market area; and



4

5

6

7

8

9

18

19 20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

WHEREAS, As a consequence, cable and satellite television carriers in Garrett County do not carry the signals of television stations located in the Baltimore and Washington, D.C. designated market areas; and

WHEREAS, Garrett County residents are unable to view news coverage relevant and important to them as Maryland residents, including coverage of Maryland politics and elections of their public officials; and

WHEREAS, Garrett County residents are also unable to view sporting events featuring their favorite teams broadcast on Baltimore and Washington, D.C. television stations; and

WHEREAS, Numerous Garrett County residents have signed a petition requesting that the FCC allow them to view Baltimore and Washington, D.C. television stations; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the General Assembly finds it is in the best interest of the residents of Garrett County to be able to view broadcasts from stations located in the Baltimore and Washington, D.C. television market areas so that they may know what is happening in their own state; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Maryland Delegation to Congress is urged to encourage the FCC to amend its television market determination regulations and to sponsor and support any necessary legislation in the United States Congress to allow Garrett County residents to receive broadcasts from stations located in the Baltimore and Washington, D.C. television market areas; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Honorable Martin O'Malley, Governor of Maryland; the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and the Honorable Michael E. Busch, Speaker of the House of Delegates; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Maryland Congressional Delegation: Senators Barbara A. Mikulski and Benjamin L. Cardin, Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; and Representatives Andrew P. Harris, C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger III, John P. Sarbanes, Donna Edwards, Steny Hamilton Hoyer, Roscoe G. Bartlett, Elijah E. Cummings, and Christopher Van Hollen, Jr., House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Honorable Julius Genachowski, Chairman of the Federal Communications Commission, 445 12th Street S.W., Washington, D.C. 20554.