# Chapter 310

## (Senate Bill 975)

AN ACT concerning

## Economic Development – Tri–County Council for Western Maryland – Membership and Leadership

FOR the purpose of altering the membership of the Tri-County Council for Western Maryland; establishing an Executive Committee for the Council and providing for the Executive Committee's officers and terms of office; defining a certain term; providing for the initial membership of the Executive Committee; and generally relating to the membership and leadership of the Tri-County Council for Western Maryland.

BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article – Economic Development Section 13–701 and 13–703 Annotated Code of Maryland (2008 Volume and 2010 Supplement)

BY repealing

Article – Economic Development Section 13–704 Annotated Code of Maryland (2008 Volume and 2010 Supplement)

BY adding to

Article – Economic Development Section 13–704 Annotated Code of Maryland (2008 Volume and 2010 Supplement)

SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

### **Article – Economic Development**

13 - 701.

(a) In this subtitle the following words have the meanings indicated.

(b) "Commissioners" means the Board of County Commissioners of Allegany County, Garrett County, or Washington County, respectively. (c) "Council" means the Tri–County Council for Western Maryland.

(d) "Executive Director" means the Executive Director of the Council.

# (E) "MEMBER COUNTY" MEANS EACH COUNTY IN THE REGION THAT PAYS ANNUAL DUES THAT THE COUNCIL SETS.

[(e)] (F) "Plan" means a regional plan that the Council prepares for the region.

[(f)] (G) "Region" means Allegany, Garrett, and Washington counties.

13 - 703.

(a) The Council consists of the following [23] **26** members:

[(1) from Allegany, Garrett, and Washington counties:

(i) nine representatives of the county governments, three from each county, appointed by their respective commissioners; and

(ii) three municipal elected officials, one from each county, appointed by their respective commissioners;

(2) from the members of the House of Delegates, the chair, or the designee of the chair, of the Allegany County Delegation, the Garrett County Delegation, and the Washington County Delegation, each of whom shall reside, respectively, in Allegany County, Garrett County, and Washington County;

(3) the two members of the Senate of Maryland representing the region and residing in Allegany County, Garrett County, or Washington County; and

(4) six private citizens, two each from Allegany County, Garrett County, and Washington County, respectively, that are:

(i) appointed by their respective commissioners;

(ii) not listed under paragraphs (1), (2), and (3) of this subsection; and

(iii) neither elected officials nor employees of a unit of local government.]

### (1) TWO COMMISSIONERS FROM EACH MEMBER COUNTY;

(2) THE DIRECTOR OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT FROM EACH MEMBER COUNTY;

(3) TWO MAYORS FROM EACH MEMBER COUNTY OR THEIR REPRESENTATIVES, APPOINTED BY THE RESPECTIVE CHAPTERS OF THE MARYLAND MUNICIPAL LEAGUE FOR EACH MEMBER COUNTY;

(4) THE CHAIR OF EACH MEMBER COUNTY'S LEGISLATIVE DELEGATION TO THE HOUSE OF DELEGATES, OR THE CHAIR'S DESIGNEE;

(5) THE TWO MEMBERS OF THE SENATE OF MARYLAND REPRESENTING THE MEMBER COUNTIES IN DISTRICTS 1 AND 2;

(6) SIX PRIVATE CITIZENS, TWO FROM EACH MEMBER COUNTY, WHO ARE:

(I) APPOINTED BY THEIR RESPECTIVE COMMISSIONERS;

(II) NOT LISTED UNDER PARAGRAPH (1), (2), (3), (4), OR (5) OF THIS SUBSECTION; AND

(III) NEITHER ELECTED OFFICIALS NOR EMPLOYEES OF A UNIT OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT.

(b) (1) A member who qualifies because of the member's elected or appointed position is a member of the Council only during the member's term of office in the elected or appointed position.

(2) A member appointed:

(I) UNDER SUBSECTION (A)(3) OF THIS SECTION, SERVES AT THE PLEASURE OF THE COMMISSIONERS FOR THE COUNTY THAT THE MEMBER REPRESENTS;

(II) UNDER SUBSECTION (A)(4) OF THIS SECTION, SHALL RESIDE IN THE MEMBER COUNTY THAT THE MEMBER REPRESENTS; AND

(III) under subsection [(a)(4)] (A)(6) of this section:

[(i)] **1.** serves at the pleasure of the commissioners who appointed the member; and

[(ii)] 2. has the same term as the commissioners who appointed the member.

(3) At the end of a term, a member continues to serve until a successor is appointed and qualifies.

(4) Except for an ex officio member, a member who is appointed after a term has begun serves only for the rest of the term and until a successor is appointed and qualifies.

[13-704.

The Council shall elect a chair from among its members.]

### 13-704.

(A) THERE IS AN EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE COUNCIL.

(B) THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE CONSISTS OF THE CHAIR, VICE-CHAIR, AND SECRETARY/TREASURER OF THE COUNCIL.

(C) (1) ON A ROTATING BASIS, A COMMISSIONER MEMBER OF THE COUNCIL FROM EACH MEMBER COUNTY SHALL SERVE AS THE CHAIR, VICE-CHAIR, AND SECRETARY/TREASURER, RESPECTIVELY.

# (2) THE TERM OF EACH OFFICER IS 1 YEAR.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That the membership of the Executive Committee of the Tri–County Council for Western Maryland as of October 1, 2011, under § 13–704 of the Economic Development Article, as enacted by this Act, shall be as follows:

(1) A commissioner member from Washington County shall serve as Chair;

(2) A commissioner member from Allegany County shall serve as Vice–Chair; and

(3) A commissioner member from Garrett County shall serve as Secretary/Treasurer.

SECTION 3. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 2011.

# Approved by the Governor, May 10, 2011.