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Motor Vehicles - Use of Text Messaging Device While Driving 
 

 

This bill clarifies that the prohibition against use of a wireless device while operating a 

motor vehicle applies to all drivers younger than age 18.  The bill limits the definition of 

a wireless communication device to a handheld or hands-free device used to access a 

wireless telephone service and specifies, for the purpose of the prohibition on driving 

while using a wireless communication device, that its provisions do not apply to such use.  

The bill also prohibits any person from using a text messaging device to write or send an 

electronic message.   

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential minimal general fund revenue increase from the penalty 

provisions applicable to these offenses.  Enforcement can be handled with existing 

resources. 

  

Local Effect:  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  A “text messaging device” means a handheld device to send a text 

message or an electronic message via a short message service, wireless telephone service, 

or electronic communication network.  A wireless communication device means a 

handheld or hands-free device used to access a wireless telephone service or a text 

messaging device.   
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Except to contact a 9-1-1 system in an emergency, a minor holding a learner’s permit or 

provisional license is prohibited from using a wireless communication device while 

operating a motor vehicle.  This prohibition on novice drivers is only enforceable as a 

secondary action.  A violator is subject to a maximum fine of $500 and assessment of 

one point against the driving record.  The prepayment penalty assessed by the District 

Court is $70, or $110 and three points if the violation contributes to an accident.  

A violator is also subject to license suspension for up to 90 days by the Motor Vehicle 

Administration.   

 

Under the universal ban on texting while driving, a driver is prohibited from using a text 

messaging device to write or send a text message while operating a motor vehicle in 

motion or in the travel portion of the roadway.  A violator is guilty of a misdemeanor and 

subject to a maximum fine of $500.  The prohibition does not apply to the use of a global 

positioning system or the use of a text messaging device to contact a 9-1-1 system.  A 

violator is subject to an assessment of one point against the driving record.  The 

prepayment penalty assessed by the District Court is $70, or $110 and three points if the 

violation contributes to an accident.   

 

Background:  According to the Governors Highway Safety Association (GHSA), 

30 states and the District of Columbia specifically prohibit driving while texting.  

Washington was the first state to enact such a law in May 2007.  In addition to Maryland, 

25 other states and the District of Columbia authorize primary enforcement of their 

text-messaging bans.  Four states authorize secondary enforcement only.  Many local 

jurisdictions have also established texting while driving bans or cell phone restrictions 

within their limits. 

 

General statewide restrictions on cell phone use while in a motor vehicle may effectively 

make driving while texting illegal.  California, Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, 

New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Washington, and the District of Columbia prohibit all 

drivers from using handheld phones while operating motor vehicles.  Since texting 

requires a cell phone to be held in the hand, these laws appear to prohibit that activity.  

Twenty-eight states and the District of Columbia specifically prohibit wireless 

communication device use by younger drivers.  Among those states, Arkansas, California 

Colorado, Maine, Massachusetts, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and 

Virginia prohibit all drivers younger than age 18 from using any type of wireless 

communication device while driving.  The other jurisdictions, including Maryland, limit 

the prohibition against wireless communication devices to drivers with instructional 

permits or provisional licenses who are younger than age 18.  In some states, the 

prohibition targeting young drivers applies to drivers up to age 21. 

 

Experts estimate that more than 285 million wireless phone users are in the United States.  

In 2008, about 1.3 billion text messages were sent, an average of 110 million text 
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messages per month.  It is unknown how many of these messages were sent while people 

were operating motor vehicles, but driving while texting has been a growing trend for 

several years.  A study by Nationwide Insurance estimated that 20% of all drivers send or 

receive text messages.  A Zogby poll of drivers between the ages of 18 and 24 revealed 

that 66% confessed to texting while driving. 

 

Studies of the effects of texting on driving have shown conflicting results.  Researchers at 

Virginia Tech Transportation Institute have become well known for their “real world” 

studies documenting the detrimental effects of texting and other electronic device 

distractions on driving.  In September 2010, study results from researchers at the 

University of North Texas Health Science Center asserted that talking and texting on cell 

phones while driving has killed 16,000 people from 2001 to 2007, and that the proportion 

of deaths attributable to these device distractions has increased although the total number 

of traffic fatalities in the United States has decreased in recent years.  However, in the 

same month, the Highway Loss Data Institute released a study of texting and driving 

asserting that no crash reductions have occurred in the states that have enacted laws 

banning texting while driving.  In fact, the bans have been associated with a slight 

increase in the frequency of insurance claims due to collision damage in the four states 

that were the focus of the study.  Meanwhile, the U.S. Department of Transportation has 

made the elimination of texting while driving a major priority and has held summits on 

the dangers of distracted driving in 2009 and 2010. 

 

While at least 33 states and the District of Columbia require law enforcement officers to 

document the use of wireless devices, especially cell phones, at the scene of an accident, 

the reliability of data gathered at the accident scene has been subject to challenge.  

According to GHSA, recently proposed federal legislation would require all states to 

collect data about distractions to qualify for certain federal funding. 

 

State Revenues:  The District Court advises that, in fiscal 2010, there were 

two convictions for violating the prohibition against writing or sending a text message 

while driving.         

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Baltimore, Carroll, Cecil, Harford, Montgomery, and St  

Mary’s counties; Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of State 

Police; Maryland Department of Transportation; Governors Highway Safety Association; 
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Reuters News Service; Highway Loss Data Institute; Virginia Tech Transportation 

Institute; American Journal of Public Health; U.S. Department of Transportation; 

Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 11, 2011 

 ncs/ljm 

 

Analysis by:   Karen D. Morgan  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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