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This bill requires a court to ensure that a victim of crime is afforded all of the rights
provided to these victims under the law. A victim who alleges that the victim’s right to
restitution was not considered or was improperly denied may file a motion requesting
relief within 30 days of the denial or alleged failure to consider. If the court finds that the
victim’s right to restitution was not considered or was improperly denied, the court may
enter a judgment of restitution.

The bill takes effect June 1, 2011.

Fiscal Summary
State Effect: The bill’s requirements can be handled with existing resources.

Local Effect: The bill is procedural and is not anticipated to have a material effect on
local finances.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Article 47 of the Maryland Declaration of Rights grants victims of crime
in cases originating in a circuit court “...the right to be informed of the rights established
in this Article and, upon request and if practicable, to be notified of, to attend, and to be
heard at a criminal justice proceeding....” However, Article 47 also notes that any rights
afforded victims of crime under the Declaration of Rights do not authorize victims to take
any action to stay a criminal proceeding.



Upon first contact with a victim or victim’s representative (victim/representative), a law
enforcement officer, District Court commissioner, or juvenile intake officer is required to
give a victim/representative a pamphlet informing the victim/representative of the
victim’s rights under Article 47. For circuit court cases and juvenile court cases
(involving offenses that are heard in the circuit court if committed by an adult), a
prosecuting attorney is required to deliver or mail the informational pamphlet and a
victim notification form to the victim/representative within 10 days after the filing or the
unsealing of an indictment or information in circuit court, whichever is later. The
prosecuting attorney must also certify compliance with this requirement to the clerk of
the circuit court or certify that the victim/representative cannot be identified. A
victim/representative who files a victim notification form has complied with Article 47
and every section of Maryland law requiring a victim/representative to request notice to
be notified prior to certain proceedings and/or address the court.

If practicable, a court must allow a victim/representative to address the court under oath
at a hearing in which the court is imposing a sentence, considering the disposition of a
juvenile court proceeding, or altering a sentence or disposition. A victim/representative
is afforded this right through: (1) a request by the prosecuting attorney; or (2) filing a
victim notification request form. Courts may authorize a similar request if asked to do so
by the victim/representative. The defendant or child respondent may cross-examine a
victim/representative on the factual statements made to the court. A victim/representative
has the right not to address the court and a person may not attempt to coerce a
victim/representative to address the court. A victim of a violent crime or the victim’s
representative who has been denied the right of notification and participation, as
specified, may file an application for leave to appeal to the Court of Special Appeals from
an interlocutory or final order that denies or fails to consider the victim’s right to address
the court. The filing of an application for leave to appeal does not stay the other
proceedings in the case unless all of the parties consent. Even though a
victim/representative is technically not a party in the appeal, the victim/representative is
allowed to participate in a manner similar to a party under the Maryland Rules. This
enhanced participation is limited to matters in the appeal that concern the rights of the
victim/representative.

If a victim/representative fails to appear at a hearing on a motion for a revision,
modification, or reduction of a sentence or disposition in circuit court or juvenile court,
the prosecuting attorney must state on the record that proceeding without the appearance
of the victim/representative is justified because: (1) the victim/representative was
contacted by the prosecuting attorney and waived the right to attend the hearing;
(2) efforts were made to contact the victim/representative and to the best knowledge and
belief of the prosecuting attorney, the victim/representative cannot be located; or (3) the
victim/representative has not filed a notification request form.
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If the court is not satisfied by the statement that proceeding without the appearance of the
victim/representative is justified, or if no statement is made, the court may postpone the
hearing.

In general, a court is authorized to order a defendant or child respondent to make
restitution for a variety of expenses incurred or property losses sustained by a victim,
including loss of earnings. This restitution is in addition to any penalties for the
commission of a crime or delinquent act. A victim is presumed to have a right of
restitution if the victim or the State makes a request to the court and the court is presented
with competent evidence of the claimed loss/expense.

A judgment of restitution does not preclude the property owner or victim who suffered
personal physical or mental injury, out-of-pocket loss of earnings, or support from
bringing a civil action to recover damages from the restitution obligor. A civil verdict
made in these cases must be reduced by the amount paid under the criminal judgment
restitution.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Office of the
Public Defender, Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 18, 2011
mc/kdm Revised - House Third Reader - March 30, 2011
Revised - Enrolled Bill - May 11, 2011

Analysis by: Amy A. Devadas Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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