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This bill repeals a requirement that a criminal compulsory attendance violation charge be 

filed against a person with legal custody or care and control of a child and dismissed or 

stetted before a child younger than age 12 is eligible to participate in a Truancy 

Reduction Pilot Program (TRPP).  

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Any increase in participation in TRPPs is not expected to materially impact 

State operations or finances. 

  

Local Effect:  Any increase in participation in TRPPs is not expected to materially 

impact local operations or finances. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Families enter TRPP when a school official files a civil petition alleging 

that a child who is required to attend school has failed to do so without lawful excuse.  

For students younger than age 12, prior to participation in TRPP, a criminal charge must 

have been filed against the student’s legal custodian and then dismissed or placed on the 

inactive docket (stetted) prior to participation in TRPP. 

 

In making a disposition on the truancy petition, the court may order the student to 

(1) attend school; (2) perform community service; (3) attend counseling, including family 

counseling; (4) attend substance abuse evaluation and treatment; (5) attend mental health 
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evaluation and treatment; or (6) comply with a curfew set by the court.  Following the 

disposition hearing, a review hearing is scheduled to review family assessment findings 

and determine appropriate services.  Participants are eligible for graduation from TRPP 

when they have remained in the program for 90 days without any unexcused absences.   

 

Except as otherwise provided, each child who resides in Maryland and is 5 years or older 

and younger than age 16 must regularly attend a public school unless the child is 

otherwise receiving regular, thorough instruction during the school year.  Each person 

who has legal custody or care and control of a child who is at least age 5, but younger 

than age 16, must see that the child attends school or receives instruction. 

 

Current statutory penalties focus on parents and guardians rather than children.  Any 

person who induces or attempts to induce a child to be unlawfully absent from school, or 

who employs or harbors any child who is absent unlawfully from school while school is 

in session, is guilty of a misdemeanor.  That person is subject to maximum penalties of a 

fine of $500 and/or 30 days imprisonment.   

 

Any person who has legal custody or care and control of a child who is at least 

5 years old, but younger than age 16, who fails to see that the child attends school or 

receives instruction is guilty of a misdemeanor.  For a first conviction, the violator is 

subject to maximum penalties of a fine of $50 per unlawful day of absence and/or 

10 days imprisonment.  For a second or subsequent conviction, the violator is subject to 

maximum penalties of a fine of $100 per day of unlawful absence and/or 30 days 

imprisonment.  The court may suspend the imposed fine or prison sentence and establish 

terms and conditions that promote the child’s attendance. 

 

The principal or head teacher of each public or private school in Maryland must 

immediately report to the county superintendent, the supervisor of pupil personnel, or any 

other designated official, the name of each child enrolled in the school who has been 

absent or irregular in attendance, without lawful excuse, or who shows evidence of 

maladjustment, so that the causes may be studied and solutions developed.  On receipt of 

such a report, the appropriate school system representative must initiate an investigation 

into the cause of the child’s truancy, and may provide counseling regarding available 

social, health, and educational services.  Following the investigation or intervention, the 

representative may notify DJS that the student has been habitually truant, without lawful 

excuse.   

         

A child who is required by law to attend school and is habitually truant can be designated 

a Child in Need of Supervision (CINS).  A student is habitually truant if the student is 

unlawfully absent from school in excess of 20% of the school days within any marking 

period, semester, or year.  Local school systems have the authority to define habitual 

truancy more narrowly.  CINS cases are under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court. 
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Background:  Chapter 551 of 2004 authorized a three-year TRPP in the juvenile courts 

in Dorchester, Somerset, Wicomico, and Worcester counties.  Chapter 648 of 2007 

extended the term of TRPP and authorized the establishment of TRPP in the juvenile 

courts of Harford and Prince George’s counties.  Similar to drug courts, truancy courts 

are problem-solving courts in which cases are heard on a special docket by the same 

judge each month.  The courts hold regular hearings in each case to review a child’s 

progress toward full attendance and to address the causes of the child’s truancy.  

Chapter 718 of 2009 repealed the termination date of TRPP, establishing permanent 

truancy courts in Dorchester, Harford, Prince George’s, Wicomico, and Worcester 

counties. 

 

According to the Office of Problem-Solving Courts Annual Report, the truancy courts 

collectively served 167 children in fiscal 2009 (the most current year for which data is 

readily available).   

 

This bill is intended to allow for direct referrals to truancy court for younger children.  

The Judiciary indicates that judges have encountered impediments in getting referrals to 

the truancy courts on younger children because of the requirement for criminal charges to 

be filed against the parent as a prerequisite to filing a truancy petition.  The filing of a 

criminal charge is one that local authorities have in the past used sparingly and only in 

the most extreme cases.  This requirement also prolongs the period of time that must pass 

before a case can be referred to the truancy court.   

 

Truancy, or unexcused absence from school, is a problem nationwide.  A recent 

U.S. Department of Justice report cites truancy as a significant risk factor for substance 

abuse, delinquency, gang activity, and dropping out of school.  In another study, the 

department found that approximately two-thirds of serious violent offenders and half of 

serious nonviolent offenders had been truants.  A 2007 report from the National Center 

for School Engagement in Colorado cited a number of studies showing that effective 

truancy reduction programs can produce a marked decline in delinquent acts committed 

by school-age youth.  

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 



HB 1141/ Page 4 

Information Source(s):  Howard County, Maryland State Department of Education, 

Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of Juvenile Services, Office 

of the Public Defender, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 16, 2011 

Revised - House Third Reader - March 28, 2011 

 

ncs/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Jennifer K. Botts  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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