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FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE 

  

Senate Bill 852 (Senator Astle) 

Judicial Proceedings   

 

Motorcycles - Protective Equipment - Penalty 
 

 

This bill specifies that any person who is convicted of a violation of failure to wear 

specified protective equipment while operating a motorcycle is subject to a fine of not 

more than $25. 

 

The bill takes effect July 1, 2011. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund revenues from traffic citations decrease by at least $19,600 

beginning in FY 2012.  Medicaid expenditures (50% general funds, 50% federal funds) 

and general fund expenditures for the Developmental Disabilities Administration (DDA) 

may increase beginning in FY 2012 to the extent that the bill results in a reduction in 

helmet use and an associated increase in head injuries.  Future years reflect inflation. 

  
(in dollars) FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 

GF Revenue ($19,600) ($20,600) ($21,600) ($22,700) ($23,900) 

GF/FF Exp. - - - - - 

Net Effect ($19,600) ($20,600) ($21,600) ($22,700) ($23,900)   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

  

Local Effect:  None. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

 

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  An individual may not operate or ride on a motorcycle unless the 

individual is wearing protective headgear that meets the standards established by the 
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administrator.  An individual who is riding in an enclosed cab is exempt from the 

protective headgear requirement.  A person may not operate a motorcycle unless the 

individual is wearing an eye-protective device approved by the administrator or the 

motorcycle is equipped with a windscreen.  Failure to comply with these requirements is 

a misdemeanor, subject to a maximum fine of $500.  The prepayment penalty established 

by the District Court for this offense is $110.  The prepayment penalty for failure to wear 

a seatbelt is $25. 

 

“Protective helmet or headgear” means a device primarily intended to protect the upper 

part of the wearer’s head against a blow or impact.  The Federal Motor Vehicle Safety 

Standard 218, Motorcycle Helmets, 49 CFR § 571.218 (1991), which is incorporated by 

reference in the Code of Maryland Regulations, is adopted as the minimum standard for 

helmets required to be worn by operators and passengers on motorcycles.  The protective 

headgear must be worn on the head with the chin strap properly fastened and in contact 

with the chin or jaw by both operator and passenger at all times that the motorcycle is in 

motion. 

 

Background:  As of February 2011, 20 states and the District of Columbia require all 

motorcyclists to wear a helmet, while 27 states require only some motorcyclists to wear a 

helmet, typically riders age 17 and younger.  Three states (Illinois, Iowa, and 

New Hampshire) have no motorcycle helmet laws.   

 

The Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems reports that Maryland’s 

trauma centers treated 1,101 patients involved in motorcycle crashes during fiscal 2010.  

Of these patients, 455 sustained a head injury, 23 of whom subsequently died.  Of the 

455 riders who sustained head injuries, 307 (68%) were wearing a helmet, 

131 (29%) were not, and it was unknown whether 17 of the patients wore a helmet or not.  

All 455 required treatment and 283 were admitted.  Sixty-two (14%) stayed in the 

hospital for one day.  Fifteen of the admitted patients required hospitalization for more 

than 28 days. 

 

State Revenues:  General fund fine revenues decrease by at least $19,635 beginning in 

fiscal 2012.  This estimate is based on the following information.  In fiscal 2010, 

456 citations were issued statewide for failure to wear a helmet or eye-protective device 

while riding on or operating a motorcycle.  Of these citations, 231 (51%) were prepaid.  

The citation carries a prepayment penalty of $110, including court costs.  Under the bill, 

the prepayment penalty will be a maximum of $25. 

 

The actual decrease in general fund fine revenues will be greater than this figure, which 

does not reflect reduced fines resulting from citations that go to trial.  For illustrative 

purposes only, if every citation that went to trial in fiscal 2010 (225) resulted in the 
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maximum fine of $500, general fund fine revenues would further decline by as much as 

$106,875 under the bill.   

 

Future years reflect a 5% annual increase in the number of prepaid citations. 

 

State Expenditures:  Medicaid expenditures (50% general funds, 50% federal funds) 

may increase in fiscal 2012 to the extent that a lesser penalty for failure to wear 

protective headgear results in a reduction in helmet use and an associated increase in head 

injuries to crash-involved motorcyclists.  General fund expenditures for DDA may also 

increase beginning in fiscal 2012 to the extent that the bill results in a reduction in helmet 

use among motorcyclists younger than age 21 and there is an associated increase in head 

injuries among these riders.  Individuals who sustain traumatic brain injuries before the 

age of 21 are eligible for DDA services.   

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Judiciary 

(Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of State Police, Maryland Department 

of Transportation, Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems, 

Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 18, 2011 

mc/ljm  

 

Analysis by:  Jennifer B. Chasse  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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