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Environmental Matters

Motor Vehicles - Seatbelts - Exception for Law Enforcement Officers

This bill exempts a law enforcement officer from the mandatory requirement to use a
seatbelt that applies when occupying the driver position or front outboard passenger seat
position in a motor vehicle. It specifies that the requirement does not apply to a law
enforcement officer’s failure to use a seatbelt while operating or riding in a motor vehicle
if the officer is acting within the scope of his or her official duties.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential minimal reduction in general fund revenues due to the exemption
for law enforcement officers. Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.

Local Effect: Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Every motor vehicle registered in Maryland and manufactured and
assembled after June 1, 1964, must be equipped with two sets of seatbelts on the front
seat. Every motor vehicle registered in Maryland and manufactured or assembled with a
rear seat after June 1, 1969, must have two sets of seatbelts on the rear seat. This
provision does not apply to motorcycles, buses, trucks, or taxicabs. Failure to have the
required front and/or rear seatbelts in a registered motor vehicle is a misdemeanor with a
maximum fine of $500. The prepayment penalty assessed by the District Court is $70.



For purposes of the seatbelt requirement, “motor vehicle” means a vehicle that is
registered or capable of being registered in this State as a passenger vehicle, a truck,
tractor, multipurpose, or passenger bus vehicle and is required to have seatbelts under
federal motor vehicle safety standards. Historic vehicles are not subject to the mandatory
seatbelt requirement.

A person may not operate a motor vehicle unless the person and each occupant younger
than age 16 are restrained by a seatbelt or a child safety seat, as specified. A person who
is age 16 or older may not be a passenger in the outboard front seat of a motor vehicle
unless restrained by a seatbelt. A person who violates these provisions is subject to a
maximum fine of $25, including court costs.

The mandatory seatbelt provisions do not apply to a person if a Maryland licensed
physician determines and certifies in writing that the person’s disability or another
medical reason prevents appropriate restraint by a seatbelt. The certification must state
the nature of the physical disability and the reason that restraint by a seatbelt is
inappropriate. The mandatory seatbelt provisions also do not apply to U.S. Postal Service
and contract carriers while delivering mail to local box routes. A violation is not a
moving violation nor may it be considered evidence of negligence or contributory
negligence.

The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) and the Department of State Police (DSP)
must establish prevention and education programs to encourage compliance. MVA must
include information on the State’s experience with seatbelt compliance in the annual
evaluation report on the State’s highway safety plan that is submitted to the National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and the Federal Highway
Administration.

Background: According to the American Automobile Association (AAA) at least
10 states (California, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Nebraska,
Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin) have enacted exemptions from their seatbelt
requirements for law enforcement officers. AAA advises that the language varies and
may incorporate emergency services personnel. The state exemptions generally make the
exemption conditional and may require, for example, that the officer be in a marked
police car on official business, or that the decision not to use seatbelts is in the interest of
the officer’s safety.

According to the Governors Highway Safety Association, 49 states and the District of
Columbia mandate the use of seatbelts. The District of Columbia and 31 states, including
Maryland, Delaware, and New Jersey, require primary enforcement of seatbelt laws. The
remaining 18 states, including Pennsylvania and Virginia, require secondary enforcement
only. New Hampshire is the only state that does not mandate use of seatbelts for adults in
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motor vehicles. New Hampshire does, however, have a child passenger safety law that
covers children younger than age 18 and is subject to primary enforcement.

According to NHTSA, seatbelt use in Maryland was surveyed to be 94% in 2009, among
the highest in the nation. In 2009, 343 passenger vehicle occupant fatalities were
documented. Data reported to NHTSA from the State Highway Administration found
that, in traffic accidents with fatalities involving passenger occupants age five and older,
about 37.3% of occupants were identified as unbelted at the time of a crash. NHTSA
estimates that an additional 30 lives could have been saved in 2009 with 100% seatbelt
use by all vehicle occupants.

Exhibit 1 shows the number of citations prepaid and the total number of seatbelt
violations for fiscal 2009 and 2010. Generally, the District Court processes
100,000 citations annually, although the number fluctuates from year to year. It is
unknown how many of these citations were issued to law enforcement officers.

Exhibit 1
Enforcement of Child Safety Seat and Seatbelt Provisions
Fiscal 2009-2010

Citation EY 2009 FY 2010
Operating Vehicle with Occupant

Younger Than 16 or Driver Not Restrained

Prepaid Citations 84,370 73,308
Total Citations 91,341 86,008

Passenger Age 16 or Older in

Outboard Front Seat without Seatbelt

Prepaid Citations 7,645 6,177
Total Citations 9,227 7,889

Prepaid Revenue for Seatbelt Citations ($25 prepay) $2,300,375 $1,987,125

Source: District Court

State/Local Fiscal Effect: While there is a risk of increased insurance claims from the
failure to wear seat belts by law enforcement officers, the Maryland Vehicle Law
prohibits consideration of evidence that an individual failed to use a seatbelt as evidence
of negligence or contributory negligence. Accordingly, State and local agencies should
be able to accommodate any increased expenditures from the bill with existing resources.
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The counties of Carroll, Harford, and St. Mary’s advise that there is no fiscal impact from
the bill. Montgomery County and the City of Takoma Park both advise that local policies
will continue to mandate that law enforcement officers wear seatbelts.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Carroll, Harford, Montgomery, and St. Mary’s counties; City of
Takoma Park; Department of Natural Resources; Department of General Services;
Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of State Police; Maryland
Department of Transportation; Governors Highway Safety Association; American
Automobile Association; National Conference of State Legislatures; National Highway
Traffic Safety Administration; Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 11, 2011
mc/ljm

Analysis by: Karen D. Morgan Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510

HB 1173/ Page 4



	HB 1173
	Department of Legislative Services
	Maryland General Assembly
	2011 Session
	FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE
	Fiscal Summary
	Analysis
	Additional Information




