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Motor Scooter and Moped Rentals - Protective Headgear - Requirement 
 

   

This bill requires a person who rents a motor scooter or moped to another person to 

provide protective headgear that meets the standards established by the Administrator of 

the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA).  The bill also prohibits an individual from 

operating or riding a rented motor scooter or moped unless the individual is wearing 

specified protective headgear.  A violator of either provision is subject to existing 

penalties.  The failure of an individual to wear protective headgear may not be considered 

evidence of negligence or contributory negligence; limit liability of a party or an insurer; 

or diminish recovery for damages arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or operation 

of a motor scooter or moped.    

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues beginning in FY 2012 

due to penalties assessed under the Maryland Vehicle Law.  Enforcement can be handled 

with existing resources.  Potential significant general and federal fund expenditure 

savings beginning in FY 2012 for the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene to the 

extent the bill reduces debilitating injuries from motor scooter and moped accidents. 

  

Local Effect:  None.  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Potential significant impact on small businesses that rent motor 

scooters and mopeds.  Potential minimal increase in revenues from additional sales of 

helmets. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Maryland law has established no helmet requirement for motor scooters 

or mopeds.  

 

A “motor scooter” is a two-wheeled, nonpedal vehicle with automatic transmission, a 

seat, and a step-through chassis.  A motor scooter motor has a rating of 2.7 horsepower or 

less or, if the motor is an internal combustion engine, it has a capacity of 50 cc or less.  

Motorcycles, all-terrain vehicles, and other vehicles made for off-road use are not 

considered motor scooters.  A person may not ride a motor scooter on any roadway where 

the maximum speed limit exceeds 50 miles per hour, on any expressway (except on an 

adjacent bicycle path or way approved by the Maryland State Highway Administration), 

or on any other controlled access highway prohibited by specified signage.  

 

The Administrator of MVA is authorized to approve or disapprove of the protective 

headgear required for motorcycle operators and may adopt and enforce regulations that 

establish protective headgear standards. 

 

“Protective helmet or headgear” means a device primarily intended to protect the upper 

part of the wearer’s head against a blow or impact.  The Federal Motor Vehicle Safety 

Standard 218, Motorcycle Helmets, 49 CFR § 571.218 (1991), which is incorporated by 

reference in the Code of Maryland Regulations, is adopted as the minimum standard for 

helmets required to be worn by operators and passengers on motorcycles.  The protective 

headgear must be worn on the head with the chin strap properly fastened and in contact 

with the chin or jaw by both operator and passenger at all times that the motorcycle is in 

motion.  

 

Unless otherwise specified, a violation under the Maryland Vehicle Law is a 

misdemeanor, subject to a maximum fine of $500.  The District Court assesses a 

prepayment penalty of $110 for a violation of the protective headgear requirement. 

 

The failure of an individual to wear the protective headgear required may not be 

considered evidence of negligence or contributory negligence, limit liability of a party or 

an insurer, or diminish recovery for damages arising out of the ownership, maintenance, 

or operation of a motorcycle. 

 

Background:  The laws concerning helmet use for motor scooters vary widely because 

states define motor scooters differently.  Many states include motor scooters in the 

definition of “motor driven cycle” along with motorcycles.  According to the Insurance 

Institute for Highway Safety, 22 states have motorcycle laws that cover all “low-power 

cycles” – motor-driven cycles, mopeds, scooters, and various other two-wheeled cycles 

typically excluded from the definition of motorcycle.  Twenty-five states and the 
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District of Columbia have laws that cover some low-power cycles.  Twenty states 

(including Maryland) and the District of Columbia require all motorcyclists to wear a 

helmet, while 27 states require only riders younger than a specified age to wear helmets.  

The threshold age ranges from 14 to 20.  Three states (Illinois, Iowa, and 

New Hampshire) do not require motorcycle riders to wear protective headgear.   

 

State Revenues:  General fund revenues increase minimally under the bill’s monetary 

penalty provision. 

 

State Expenditures:  To the extent the bill reduces debilitating injuries resulting from 

motor scooter and moped accidents, potentially significant savings could be generated for 

the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene.  Individuals with traumatic brain injuries 

often receive care in nursing homes, chronic hospitals, and State psychiatric institutions 

due to a lack of funding for community-based services.  Individuals enrolled in the 

Medicaid program for treatment from traumatic brain injury receive residential and day 

habilitation and supported employment services at a cost of about $120,000 per enrollee 

per year.  There are insufficient data at this time to estimate the number of traumatic head 

injuries that could be avoided and the resulting potential savings to the Medicaid 

program.   

 

If additional Maryland motor scooter and moped riders younger than age 21 comply with 

this bill by wearing the specified helmets and there are fewer head injuries as a result, 

general fund expenditures for the Developmental Disabilities Administration could be 

reduced because fewer individuals injured before age 21 would need ongoing funding 

and services.  There is insufficient data at this time to reliably estimate the number of 

injuries that could be avoided and the resulting potential savings.  

 

Small Business Effect:  Small businesses that rent motor scooters or mopeds, to the 

extent that they do not already provide protective headgear, would be required to 

purchase and maintain such equipment.  Small businesses that sell protective headgear 

could see a minimal increase in revenues from increased sales of protective headgear. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Maryland Institute for 

Emergency Medical Services Systems, Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 
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Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of State Police, Maryland 

Department of Transportation, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 11, 2011 

 mc/ljm 

 

Analysis by:   Jennifer B. Chasse  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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