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Education - School Buses - Inspections and Length of Operation 
 

   

This bill specifies that a school bus operating beyond the standard 12-year limitation as 

allowed in specified counties (Caroline, Dorchester, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, and 

Worcester counties) does not have to be reinspected if ownership has been transferred to 

one of the six counties and the bus has already passed a required inspection.  A required 

inspection of the school bus is valid in the sending and receiving counties. 

 

The bill also repeals the June 30, 2011 termination date on the three-year extension, from 

12 to 15 years, on the length of time that a conventional school bus may remain in 

operation in Somerset, Wicomico, and Worcester counties.  

 

The bill takes effect July 1, 2011. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Any reduction in the number of school buses the Maryland State 

Department of Education must approve for use each year does not materially affect State 

finances.   

  

Local Effect:  Local school system expenditures for school bus inspection in Caroline, 

Dorchester, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, and Worcester counties may decrease 

minimally beginning in FY 2012.  Local school system expenditures in the affected 

counties may decrease beginning in FY 2012 due to a reduction in student transportation 

contract costs. 
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Small Business Effect:  Minimal.  It is assumed that affected school bus contractors will 

pass on some of the cost savings associated with fewer school bus inspections and the 

purchase of fewer new buses to the local school systems. 
 

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Unless it fails to meet applicable safety standards, a conventional school 

bus may be operated for up to 12 years, except in Caroline, Dorchester, Somerset, Talbot, 

Wicomico, and Worcester counties where it may be operated for up to 15 years.  The 

additional three-year exemption period for Somerset, Wicomico, and Worcester counties 

is subject to termination on June 30, 2011. 

 

Conventional school buses may be operated beyond the 12- and 15-year limits if (1) the 

State Superintendent of Schools grants approval; (2) the bus is maintained under a 

preventive maintenance plan that is approved by the Motor Vehicle Administration 

(MVA) and the Department of State Police and includes semi-annual inspections; (3) any 

structural repairs to the bus meet or exceed the manufacturer’s original manufacturing 

standards, as certified by an independent expert approved by MVA; and (4) the bus is 

properly equipped with specified safety features.          

 

Background:  The Maryland State Department of Education reports that Somerset, 

Wicomico, and Worcester counties allow contractors to buy used buses from other 

jurisdictions and that the local boards of education set the parameters for all bus usage 

and inspection.  In Somerset County, a contractor may buy a bus up to six years old; in 

Worcester County, a contractor may buy a bus up to five years old; and in Wicomico 

County, a contractor may buy a bus up to 10 years old.  In all cases, the contractor may 

operate a used bus as either a regular route bus or as a spare bus.   

 

If a contractor buys a bus older than 13 years old, according to local board policies, the 

bus may only be used as a spare bus and local board and MVA policies require the 

completion of an MVA School Vehicle Acceptance Sheet to determine its acceptance 

into the fleet.  In addition, local board policies require a contractor to have an 

MVA-certified Type A inspection complete by a certified station within the county.  This 

bill would preempt the local policies and would require local boards to accept 

out-of-county inspections as valid. 

 

Chapter 420 of 2003 initially established the three-year extension period for school buses 

operated in Somerset, Wicomico, and Worchester counties. Chapter 576 of 2006 

extended the extension date to June 30, 2011.  The three-year extension period is not 

subject to termination in Caroline, Dorchester, and Talbot counties.  Somerset, 

Wicomico, and Worcester counties contract for student transportation services.  In 
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fiscal 2009, the counties spent a total of $16.2 million on student transportation, or an 

estimated $705 per rider. Statewide, counties spent an average of $634 per rider in 

fiscal 2009.   

 

All the school buses in Talbot County are publicly owned, while in Caroline and 

Dorchester counties school buses are both publicly owned and contract operated.   

 

Local Expenditures:  This bill requires Caroline, Dorchester, Somerset, Talbot, 

Wicomico, and Worcester counties to recognize out-of-county inspections of school 

buses when buses are purchased or transferred from other counties.  These counties, 

therefore, will not need to obtain an additional inspection in order to operate the bus, 

which will result in cost savings of $200 to $300 per transferred bus.  These savings may 

result in a minimal reduction in student transportation costs in the affected counties. 

 

Making the three-year extension on school bus use permanent for Somerset, Wicomico, 

and Worcester counties will also impact student transportation costs.  Private contractors 

in the counties may realize savings by deferring purchases of new school buses, which 

cost approximately $80,000 each. These savings may result in reduced student 

transportation costs in affected counties if the savings are passed on to local school 

systems through lower contract prices.         

 

Small Business Effect: Private student transportation contractors working for Caroline, 

Dorchester, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, and Worcester counties may operate a school 

bus purchased from another county that passed its inspections for the length of time that 

the inspection would have been valid in the county where the inspection was completed.  

Therefore, private contractors will not need to pay $200 to $300 for an additional 

inspection in order to operate the bus, which may result in some cost savings.  

 

Private student transportation contractors working for Somerset, Wicomico, and 

Worcester counties may operate a school bus for three additional years without obtaining 

approval from the State Superintendent of Schools, participating in a preventive 

maintenance plan, or meeting certain safety and certification requirements. This will 

enable private contractors to delay the purchase of new school buses.  

 

It is assumed that any reduction in costs for the contractors will be at least partially offset 

by a decrease in the contracts paid by the affected public school systems.         

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 
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Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland State Department of Education, Maryland 

Department of Transportation, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 21, 2011 

 ncs/mwc 

 

Analysis by:   Caroline L. Boice  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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