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House Bill 1017 (Delegate O'Donnell, et al.) 

Environmental Matters Judicial Proceedings 

 

Vehicle Laws - Registration and Driver's License Renewal Fees - No Charge for 

Recipients of Medal of Honor 
 

   

This bill exempts Medal of Honor recipients from being charged a fee by the Motor 

Vehicle Administration (MVA) for the renewal of a vehicle’s registration or a Class A, B, 

C, D, E, or M driver’s license. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) and other special fund revenues decrease 

negligibly due to the bill’s exemption of Medal of Honor recipients from vehicle 

registration and driver’s license renewal fees.  Expenditures are not affected. 

  

Local Effect:  Local government revenues decrease negligibly due to fewer license and 

registration fees being distributed as highway user revenues. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The holder of a noncommercial Class A, B, C, D, E, or M driver’s license 

must pay MVA a $30 fee for renewal of the license.  Registration renewal fees vary 

based on the size and class of the vehicle.  However, most cars and light trucks are 

Class A vehicles subject to a $128 biennial registration renewal fee, or $180 if the vehicle 

is over 3,700 pounds, as is typical of large light trucks.  As part of the registration fee, 

owners pay an annual $13.50 surcharge to fund emergency medical system operations 

and trauma physician services. 

 



 

HB 1017/ Page 2 

Vehicles exempt from vehicle registration fees by MVA include: 

 

 a vehicle owned and operated by a unit of a national veterans’ organization;   

 

 a vehicle owned and personally used by a veteran who has lost the use of a hand, 

arm, or leg, or is totally disabled, or has a permanent impairment of both eyes of a 

type specified in law; and 

 

 a vehicle owned and personally used by an individual who is at least 65 years old 

and is the surviving spouse of a deceased disabled veteran. 

 

Each registered vehicle that is exempt from registration fees must display a special 

identification marker approved by MVA.  The special identification marker for an 

exempt vehicle must indicate that the Veterans’ Administration has approved the veteran 

as qualified for the exemption in conformance with statutorily specified conditions.  A 

disabled veteran whose vehicle is eligible for exemption may also receive a special 

registration number and plates without payment of the registration fees.  

 

Background:  The Medal of Honor is granted to a member of the U.S. Military who has 

distinguished himself or herself conspicuously by gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of 

his or her life above and beyond the call of duty while engaged in an action against an 

enemy of the United States, while engaged in military operations involving conflict with 

an opposing foreign force, or while serving with friendly foreign forces engaged in an 

armed conflict against an opposing armed force in which the United States is not a 

belligerent party.  The Medal of Honor has been awarded to 3,449 recipients since the 

Civil War; 83 medals are accredited to Marylanders.   

 

State Revenues:  The number of Medal of Honor recipients residing in Maryland is 

currently unknown but is likely fewer than five.  Further, it is unknown in which year a 

recipient would be due to renew his or her driver’s license or vehicle’s registration, or 

which size and class of vehicles are owned by the recipient.  However, due to the limited 

number of situations in which this would apply, any decline in renewal fee revenue is not 

likely to reach or exceed $1,000 for any biennial renewal period. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  SB 46 of 2010 passed in the Senate but received no further action 

after a hearing in the House Environmental Matters Committee. 

 

Cross File:  SB 2 (Senator Colburn) - Judicial Proceedings. 
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Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of Transportation, Department of 

Veterans Affairs, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 22, 2011 

 ncs/ljm 

 

Analysis by:   Evan M. Isaacson  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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