May 19, 2011

The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. President of the Senate H–107 State House Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Mr. President:

In accordance with Article II, Section 17 of the Maryland Constitution, today I have vetoed Senate Bill 472 – Carroll County – Commissioners – Term Limits and Vacancies.

This bill states that the term of a County Commissioner on the Board of County Commissioners for Carroll County is 4 years and provides for the appointment to fill a vacancy. The bill also prohibites a County Commissioner from being elected to serve more than two consecutive terms.

House Bill 477, which was passed by the General Assembly and signed by me, accomplishes the same purpose. Therefore, it is not necessary for me to sign Senate Bill 472.

Sincerely,

Governor