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Motor Vehicles - Child Safety Seats - Requirements 
 

 

This bill repeals the weight exemption for children younger than age eight who must be 

in a child safety seat while being transported in a motor vehicle.  Accordingly, a child 

younger than age eight who weighs more than 65 pounds must be restrained by a child 

safety seat while being transported in a motor vehicle, unless the child is exempt due to 

height.  A child younger than age eight who is 4 feet 9 inches or taller may still be 

restrained by a seat belt instead of a child safety seat while being transported in a motor 

vehicle. 
 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues due to additional 

people that may receive citations.  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. 
  
Local Effect:  None. 
  

Small Business Effect:  Minimal; however, small businesses may benefit from the 

purchase of additional child safety seats. 
  
 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Notwithstanding the licensee’s driving record, the Motor Vehicle 

Administration (MVA) is required to impose a restriction on the provisional driver’s 

license that prohibits that driver from operating a motor vehicle unless the driver and 

each passenger in the motor vehicle are restrained by a seat belt or child safety seat, as 

appropriate.  The mandate does not apply to an individual who has a written statement 

from a physician certifying that the use of a child safety seat or seat belt is not practical 

due to physical disability or other medical reason.  The restriction expires when the 

provisional license holder becomes age 18.  
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Vehicle Restraint Equipment:  A “child safety seat” does not mean a seat belt but is a 

device, including a child booster seat, that the manufacturer certifies complies with 

applicable federal safety standards and is intended to restrain, seat, or position a child 

who is transported in a motor vehicle.  A “seat belt” is any belt, strap, harness, or similar 

device and includes a combination seat belt-shoulder harness. 

 

Every motor vehicle registered in Maryland and manufactured and assembled after 

June 1, 1964, must be equipped with two sets of seat belts on the front seat.  Every motor 

vehicle registered in Maryland and manufactured or assembled with a rear seat after 

June 1, 1969, must have two sets of seat belts on the rear seat.  This provision does not 

apply to motorcycles, buses, trucks, or taxicabs.  Failure to have the required front and/or 

rear seat belts in a registered motor vehicle is a misdemeanor with a maximum fine of 

$500.  The prepayment penalty assessed by the District Court is $70. 

 

Required Restraints for Children:  The mandatory use of child safety seats applies to the 

transportation of all children younger than age eight, unless the child is 4 feet 9 inches or 

taller or weighs more than 65 pounds.  The requirement applies to passenger, truck, or 

multipurpose vehicles that are registered or capable of being registered in Maryland or 

registered in another state or Puerto Rico that are of the same type.   

 

A person is prohibited from transporting a child younger than age 16 in a motor vehicle 

unless the child is secured in a child safety seat (in accordance with the manufacturer’s 

instructions) or a seat belt.  A particular child may be exempted from the child safety seat 

or seat belt requirement if a physician who is licensed in the state where the vehicle 

transporting the child is registered provides written certification that use of a child safety 

seat by that particular child would be impractical due to the child’s height, weight, 

physical unfitness, or other medical reason. 

 

A child safety seat may not be used to restrain more than one individual at a time.  

However, if the number of children subject to this law exceeds the number of suitable 

passenger-securing locations for children and all of the securing locations are in use by 

children, then the person transporting the children is not in violation of the mandate. 

 

A violation of the mandatory use of a child safety seat or seat belt for children is not 

evidence of negligence or contributory negligence and may not be admitted as evidence 

in any civil trial.  It is also not a moving violation for which points may be assessed.  The 

failure to provide a child safety seat or seat belt for more than one child in the same 

vehicle at the same time has to be treated as a single violation.  A violator of these 

provisions is subject to a fine of $25.  The prepayment penalty assessed by the District 

Court is $58, which consists of the fine and $33 in court costs. 
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A judge may waive the $25 fine if the person charged did not possess a child safety seat 

at the time of the violation, acquires a child safety seat before the hearing date, and 

provides proof of acquisition to the court.  The Maryland Department of Transportation 

and the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene have to jointly implement the Child 

Safety Seat Program and encourage compliance through educational and promotional 

efforts.  

 

Background:  According to the Governors Highway Safety Association, all 50 states and 

the District of Columbia mandate the use of child safety seats for infants and other 

children fitting certain criteria.  Forty-seven states (Arizona, Florida, and South Dakota 

are the exceptions) require booster seats or another appropriate device to restrain children 

in motor vehicles who have outgrown child safety seats but are still too small to safely 

use a seat belt. 

 

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), motor 

vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for children ages 3 to 14, based on 2007 

figures, which are the latest mortality data available.  In the United States, there were 

1,314 traffic fatalities among children ages 14 and younger in 2009.  During the same 

period in Maryland, NHTSA documented 16 traffic fatalities for that same age group. 

 

In 2009, 5,366 passenger vehicle occupants ages 14 and younger were involved in fatal 

crashes in the United States.  Among those children who were fatally injured, 46% were 

unrestrained.  NHTSA research indicates that correct use of child safety seats reduces 

fatal injuries by 71% for infants and 54% for toddlers.  Among children younger than age 

five in passenger vehicles, an estimated 309 lives were saved in 2009 by the use of child 

safety and booster seat devices.   

 

A goal of the Maryland FFY 2012 Highway Safety Plan is to increase seat belt use to 

96.7% or greater by 2015.  The State Highway Administration also plans to continue an 

incentive/recognition program for law enforcement efforts, the targeting of pick-up truck 

drivers and passengers, continuation of high visibility enforcement efforts, more paid 

media in highly populated metropolitan areas, the use of focus groups to improve 

compliance, and additional outreach to teens. 

 

State Fiscal Effect:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues due to 

additional people that may be subject to the fine.  Under the bill, more children who are 

younger than age eight must be restrained in child safety seats while being transported in 

motor vehicles unless they are exempt from the requirement due to their height.  The 

Department of State Police advises that enforcement can be handled with existing 

resources.  
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Exhibit 1 shows the number of citations, both prepaid and the total, for child safety seat 

and seat belt violations for fiscal 2010 and 2011.  Generally, the District Court processes 

100,000 citations annually, although the number fluctuates from year to year. 

 

 

Exhibit 1 

Enforcement of Child Safety Seat and Seat Belt Provisions 
 

Citation Fiscal 2010 Fiscal 2011 

Child Younger than Age 8 Not in Child Safety Seat 

Prepaid Citations 3,395 3,264 

Total Citations 5,509 5,829 

Failure to Restrain Child Younger than Age 16 

Prepaid Citations 39 49 

Total Citations 83 109 

Prepaid Revenue for Child Safety Seat Citations ($58 prepay) $199,172 $192,154 

  

Operating Vehicle with Occupant Younger than 16 or Driver Not Restrained  

Prepaid Citations 73,308 66,446 

Total Citations 86,008 84,574 

Passenger Age 16 or Older in Outboard Front Seat without Seat Belt  

Prepaid Citations 6,177 5,368 

Total Citations 7,889 7,745 

Prepaid Revenue for Seat Belt Citations ($25 prepay) $1,987,125 $1,795,350 

   

Total Prepaid Revenue for Safety Seat and Seat Belt Citations $2,186,297 $1,987,504 
 

Source:  District Court of Maryland  

 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  SB 185 (Senator Forehand, et al.) - Judicial Proceedings. 

 

Information Source(s):  Department of Legislative Services 
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Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 12, 2012 

Revised - House Third Reader - March 23, 2012 

 

ncs/ljm 

 

Analysis by:   Karen D. Morgan  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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