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Environmental Matters   

 

Motor Vehicles - Seatbelts - Exception for Law Enforcement Officers 
 

 

This bill exempts a law enforcement officer from the mandatory requirement to use a seat 

belt that applies when occupying the driver position or front outboard passenger seat 

position in a motor vehicle.  It specifies that the requirement does not apply to a law 

enforcement officer’s failure to use a seat belt while operating or riding in a motor 

vehicle if the officer is acting within the scope of his or her official duties.    

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential minimal reduction in general fund revenues due to the exemption 

for law enforcement officers.  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. 

  

Local Effect:  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Every motor vehicle registered in Maryland and manufactured and 

assembled after June 1, 1964, must be equipped with two sets of seat belts on the front 

seat.  Every motor vehicle registered in Maryland and manufactured or assembled with a 

rear seat after June 1, 1969, must have two sets of seat belts on the rear seat.  This 

provision does not apply to motorcycles, buses, trucks, or taxicabs.  Failure to have the 

required front and/or rear seat belts in a registered motor vehicle is a misdemeanor with a 

maximum fine of $500.  The prepayment penalty assessed by the District Court is $70. 
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For purposes of the seat belt requirement, “motor vehicle” means a vehicle that is 

registered or capable of being registered in this State as a passenger vehicle, a truck, 

tractor, multipurpose, or passenger bus vehicle and is required to have seat belts under 

federal motor vehicle safety standards.  Historic vehicles are not subject to the mandatory 

seat belt requirement. 

 

A person may not operate a motor vehicle unless the person and each occupant younger 

than age 16 are restrained by a seat belt or a child safety seat, as specified.  A person who 

is age 16 or older may not be a passenger in the outboard front seat of a motor vehicle 

unless restrained by a seat belt.  A person who violates these provisions is subject to a 

maximum fine of $25, which includes court costs. 

 

The mandatory seat belt provisions do not apply to a person if a Maryland licensed 

physician determines and certifies in writing that the person’s disability or another 

medical reason prevents appropriate restraint by a seat belt.  The certification must state 

the nature of the physical disability and the reason that restraint by a seat belt is 

inappropriate.  The mandatory seat belt provisions also do not apply to U.S. Postal 

Service and contract carriers while delivering mail to local box routes.  A violation is not 

a moving violation nor may it be considered evidence of negligence or contributory 

negligence. 

 

The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) and the Department of State Police (DSP) 

must establish prevention and education programs to encourage compliance.  MVA must 

include information on the State’s experience with seat belt compliance in the annual 

evaluation report on the State’s highway safety plan that is submitted to the National 

Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and the Federal Highway 

Administration.         

 

Background:  According to the American Automobile Association (AAA), at least 

10 states (California, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Nebraska, 

Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin) have enacted exemptions from their seat belt 

requirements for law enforcement officers.  AAA advises that the language varies and 

may incorporate emergency services personnel.  The state exemptions generally make the 

exemption conditional and may require, for example, that the officer be in a marked 

police car on official business, or that the decision not to use seat belts is in the interest of 

the officer’s safety. 

 

According to the Governors Highway Safety Association, 49 states and the District of 

Columbia mandate the use of seat belts.  The District of Columbia and 32 states, 

including Maryland, Delaware, and New Jersey, require primary enforcement of seat belt 

laws.  The remaining 17 states, including Pennsylvania and Virginia, require secondary 

enforcement only.  New Hampshire is the only state that does not mandate use of seat 
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belts for adults in motor vehicles.  New Hampshire does, however, have a child passenger 

safety law that covers children younger than age 18 and is subject to primary 

enforcement. 
 

According to NHTSA, seat belt use in Maryland was surveyed to be 94.7% in 2010, 

among the highest in the nation.  In 2010, 295 passenger vehicle occupant fatalities were 

documented.  Data reported to NHTSA from the State Highway Administration found 

that, in traffic accidents with fatalities involving passenger occupants age five and older, 

about 13% of occupants were identified as unbelted at the time of a crash.  NHTSA 

estimates that an additional 22 lives could have been saved in 2010 with 100% seat belt 

use by all vehicle occupants. 
 

Exhibit 1 shows the number of citations prepaid and the total number of seat belt 

violations for fiscal 2010 and 2011.  Generally, the District Court processes 

100,000 citations annually, although the number fluctuates from year to year.  It is 

unknown how many of these citations were issued to law enforcement officers. 
 

 

Exhibit 1 

Enforcement of Child Safety Seat and Seat Belt Provisions 

Fiscal 2010-2011 
 

Citation FY 2010 FY 2010 

Operating Vehicle With Occupant Younger than Age 16 or Driver Not Restrained 

Prepaid Citations 73,308 66,446 

Total Citations 86,008 84,574 

Passenger Age 16 or Older in Outboard Front Seat Without Seat Belt 

Prepaid Citations 6,177 5,368 

Total Citations 7,889 7,745 

Prepaid Revenue for Seat Belt Citations ($25 prepay) $1,987,125 $1,795,350 
 

Source:  District Court 
 

 

State/Local Fiscal Effect:  While there is a risk of increased insurance claims from the 

failure to wear seat belts by law enforcement officers, the Maryland Vehicle Law 

prohibits consideration of evidence that an individual failed to use a seat belt as evidence 

of negligence or contributory negligence.  Accordingly, State and local agencies should 

be able to accommodate any increased expenditures from the bill with existing resources. 
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 1173 of 2011 was withdrawn before being heard by the House 

Environmental Matters Committee. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of 

State Police, Maryland Department of Transportation, Governors Highway Safety 

Association, American Automobile Association, National Conference of State 

Legislatures, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Department of Legislative 

Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 7, 2012 

 mc/ljm 

 

Analysis by:   Karen D. Morgan  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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