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Handgun Permits - Qualifications - Presumption and Burden of Proof 
 

 

This bill alters one current law finding that must be made by the Secretary of State Police 

for the issuance of a State handgun permit, i.e., that the applicant has a good and 

substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun, such as a finding that the permit 

is necessary as a reasonable precaution against apprehended danger.  The bill eliminates 

the example of an acceptable finding and establishes that a permit applicant is presumed 

to have a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun.  The 

Secretary of State Police is given the burden of proving that an applicant does not have a 

good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund revenues increase by $101,300 in FY 2013 and general fund 

expenditures increase by $376,300.  Future years reflect annualization, inflation, renewal 

automobile purchases, and the licensure issuance and renewal cycle.   

  
(in dollars) FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 

GF Revenue $101,300 $135,000 $202,500 $225,000 $225,000 

GF Expenditure $376,300 $312,600 $333,100 $408,100 $363,800 

Net Effect ($275,000) ($177,600) ($130,600) ($183,100) ($138,800)   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

  

Local Effect:  None.   

 

Small Business Effect:  Meaningful.  It is assumed that the bill would lead to increased 

handgun sales in the State. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  To be issued a permit to carry a handgun by the Secretary of State Police, 

an applicant (1) must be 18 or older; (2) must not have been convicted of a felony or 

misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been 

imposed or, if convicted, must have been pardoned or been granted relief under federal 

law; (3) if the person is younger than 30, must not have been committed to a facility for 

juveniles for longer than one year or adjudicated delinquent for a crime of violence, a 

felony, or misdemeanor that carries a statutory penalty of more than two years; (4) must 

not have been convicted of a controlled dangerous substance violation and must not 

presently be an addict, a habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance, or an 

alcoholic; (5) must not exhibit a propensity for violence or instability which may 

reasonably render possession of a handgun a danger to the applicant or another; and 

(6) must have a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun.  

“Good and substantial reason” includes a finding that the permit is necessary as a 

reasonable precaution against apprehended danger. 

 

A handgun permit application costs $75; two years after the initial permit, a $50 renewal 

fee is due and every three years thereafter.  In addition, the applicant must pay for 

fingerprint-based federal and State criminal history background checks for initial 

applications and renewals. 

 

Background:  There are about 14,000 active handgun permits in Maryland.  The 

Maryland State Police (MSP) has denied on average 214 applications each year since 

2009 on the basis of a finding that the person did not have a good and substantial reason 

to wear, carry, or transport a handgun.  Maryland’s Criminal Justice Information System 

Central Repository must collect the fee from the applicant, or other payer, and reimburse 

the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) through that agency’s monthly billing. 

 

Since 2009, MSP received an average of 1,786 initial applications and 2,082 renewal 

applications per year.  Renewal applications from retired law enforcement personnel are 

included in those totals.  It currently takes on average less than two days to receive the 

results of a national criminal history records check from the FBI.  

 

State Revenues:  Because the State Police advise that the department does not know how 

it would disprove a presumption that an applicant has a good and substantial reason to 

have a handgun permit, it is assumed that the bill effectively eliminates the finding 

requirement from practical use.  Legislative Services also assumes that this bill will 

double initial applications annually.  Accordingly, assuming an increase of about 

1,800 permit applications per year beginning in fiscal 2013, general fund revenues 

attributable to MSP for handgun permits will increase by $101,250 in fiscal 2013, 

accounting for the bill’s October 1, 2012 effective date (1,350 permits).  In fiscal 2014, 
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the increase will be $135,000 due to annualization.  In fiscal 2015, the additional revenue 

will be $202,500, reflecting 1,800 initial applications and 1,350 renewal applications.  

After fiscal 2015, the additional annual permit application revenue (including renewals) 

will be $225,000.   

 

The State Police have estimated that the bill would increase initial applications to at least 

15,000 in fiscal 2013 and by an annual average increase of 10,000 initial applications and 

renewals annually, thereafter.  However, MSP has not provided a credible explanation for 

such a sizable increase.  Legislative Services advises that, since 2008, MSP has 

overestimated the potential increase in applications resulting from the bill.  

 

State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures may increase by an estimated $376,285 

in fiscal 2013, which accounts for the bill’s October 1, 2012 effective date.  This estimate 

reflects the cost to hire two full-time troopers and one administrative officer/investigator 

to process and issue the additional handgun permit applications, review and issue renewal 

permits, and prepare information relating to hearings.  It includes salaries, fringe benefits, 

one-time start-up costs, and ongoing operating expenses. 

  

Salaries and Fringe Benefits $212,409 

Motor Vehicle Purchases and Operations 119,935 

Additional Police and Civilian Equipment 35,679 

Other Operating Expenses    8,262 

Total FY 2013 State Police Expenditures $376,285 

 

Future year expenditures reflect full salaries with annual increases and employee turnover 

as well as annual increases in ongoing operating expenses and automobile replacement 

costs in fiscal 2016. 

 

MSP has advised that the bill will result in 15,000 additional handgun permit applications 

in fiscal 2013, and 10,000 new and renewal applications annually, thereafter.  Based on 

those numbers,  MSP believes the bill will necessitate the hiring of three additional 

troopers, one corporal/supervisor, four civilian background investigators, and two civilian 

administrative aides (at a total cost, including equipment, of about $1.3 million in 

fiscal 2013).  Legislative Services advises that such an increase of new handgun permit 

applications in year one from current levels of about 1,800 per year to 15,000 is unlikely.  

All other requirements for handgun permits must still be met.  Fewer than 6% of 

applications are denied on the basis of the finding eliminated under the bill.   
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Department of State Police, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:   First Reader - February 16, 2012 

mc/hlb    

 

Analysis by:  Guy G. Cherry  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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